23 Student-Athletes Named to All-Super Region One Team

23 Student-Athletes Named to All-Super Region One Team


For Immediate Release

January 10, 2012

New Haven Leads the Way with Eleven Honorees

South Easton, Mass. – 23 student-athletes representing eight Northeast-10 member institutions were recently named to the 2011 Don Hansen Football All-Super Region One Team. The University of New Haven, which was just the second team to ever advance to the National Quarterfinals from the NE-10, led the way with eleven players recognized.

Six student-athletes from the Northeast-10 were named to the first team, while nine were named second team, and eight more were given third team recognition.

The first team offensive selections were New Haven's Kameel Lashley (Tight End), David Stedman (Offensive Line) and Southern Connecticut State University's Rashaad Slowley (Running Back). Defensive first team honors went to Merrimack College'sShawn Loiseau (Linebacker), and New Haven's Desmond Anderson (Cornerback) and Charlie Hatchett (Linebacker).

Merrimack and Assumption College each had three players selected, while So. Connecticut had two. American International College, Bentley University, Saint Anselm College, and Stonehill College each had one representative named to the All-Super Region One Team.

The Don Hansen team carries out the legacy of long-time small college football advocate Don Hansen, who passed away at age 75 on Aug. 29, 2010. Hansen, from Brookfield, Ill., started and published Don Hansen's National Weekly Football Gazette for three decades, selecting NCAA Division II All-America teams for the first time in 1988. Don Hansen's Football Gazette began selecting Division II All-Region squads in 2003.

The first-team and second-team All-Region selections advance to a national ballot from which the 2011 Don Hansen NCAA Division II All-America team will be named later this month.

For the complete list of all the selections from the 2011 Don Hansen All-Super Region One Team, please click here to see the full release.

The Northeast-10 is an association of 16 NCAA Division II colleges and universities located in New England and New York that is committed to supporting balanced academic and athletic opportunities for more than 5,500 student-athletes. Each year, 4,000 of those student-athletes compete in Conference championships in 23 sports, making the NE-10 the largest DII conference in the country. Leading the way in the classroom, on the field and within the community, the Northeast-10 is proud of its comprehensive program and the experience it provides student-athletes.