Embrace the Victory: Paradis Leads Penmen to NE10 Men's Golf Championship Title

Embrace the Victory: Paradis Leads Penmen to NE10 Men's Golf Championship Title


ENDICOTT, N.Y. - Led by Matt Paradis’ eight-under 136, Southern New Hampshire rolled to the 2018 Northeast 10 Men’s Golf Championship on Monday at the En-Joie Golf Club– shooting 2-under (574) as a team over the two-day tournament for the fourth title in program history. Paradis earned the Gordon McCullough Memorial Award for the second-straight year, which honors the individual medalist.

The Penmen won the tournament by a combined 12 strokes, beating out second-place finisher Bentley (+10) and third-place Assumption (+14). It is the third largest margin of victory for a team in the last 14 years. Final scores for the Men’s Golf Championship, both team and individual, are available HERE.

Paradis shot a six-under (66) in the first round on Sunday, becoming just the fifth golfer to record a round of 66 in NE10 Championship history. He edged Bentley’s Tommy Ethier by four strokes at the top of the leaderboard – two of only four golfers to shoot under par for the tournament.

Southern New Hampshire followed a solid team round of two-under on Sunday with an even-par on Monday, the only team to break even or better on the day. Rounding out the top-five was Franklin Pierce (+20) and host Le Moyne (+23).

Paradis, already twice named the NE10 Men’s Golfer of the Week this fall, led the Penmen to a two-stroke lead over the Falcons after Sunday’s round, before running away from the field on Monday. Ethier recorded an impressive four-under this weekend, while Le Moyne’s Nicholas Barney (-2) and Bentley’s Robert Falconer (-1) were close behind.

The first-ever Elite 24 Award was announced as part of the award ceremony after the event, as Bentley’s Ellis Yoder won the honor for his outstanding 4.0 GPA as an accounting major. The award honors the student-athlete with the highest cumulative GPA participating at the finals site at each NE10 Championship.


Matt Paradis, SNHU*

Tommy Ethier, Bentley

Nicholas Barney, Le Moyne

Robert Falconer, Bentley

Ryan Anderson, SNHU

Kyle Adams, Saint Rose

*Indicates Medalist


Additional information for this release provided by Southern New Hampshire athletic communications.

The NE10 is an association of 15 diverse institutions serving student-athletes across 24 NCAA Division II sports. Together we build brilliant futures by embracing the journey of every student-athlete.

Each year, 4,500 of those student-athletes compete in conference championships in 24 sports, making the NE10 the largest DII conference in the country in terms of sport sponsorship. Leading the way in the classroom, on the field and within the community, the NE10 is proud of its comprehensive program and the experience it provides student-athletes.