Assumption's Julia Chappell Headlines NE10 Women's Tennis All-Conference Awards

Assumption's Julia Chappell Headlines NE10 Women's Tennis All-Conference Awards


2018 NE10 Women's Tennis Awards Released

MANSFIELD, Mass. – Assumption sophomore Julia Chappell has been named the 2018 Northeast 10 Conference Vern Cox Women's Tennis Player of the Year, as announced by the league office on Wednesday, in addition to the release of all-conference teams and major award winners.

For a complete list of all-conference members and award winners, please see below.

Chappell, the First Team All-Conference selection at No. 1 singles, posted a 9-2 record in NE10 play at the top spot for the Greyhounds this season, helping her team to a 7-4 finish and the No. 6 seed in the NE10 Women's Tennis Championship. She also earned Third Team All-Conference honors at No. 1 doubles with her partner, Maria Monje

Southern New Hampshire's Alexxa Etiennewas named the 2018 NE10 Women's Tennis Rookie of the Year as voted on by the conference's head coaches. Etienne, a three-time NE10 Rookie of the Week this season, went 9-2 for the Penmen. She is in a three-way tie for First Team All-Conference at No. 3 singles with Le Moyne's Marta Nunezand Stonehill's Samantha Ormesher, while also earning a spot on the conference's All-Rookie Team.

Merrimack's Dena Madden was named NE10 Coach of the Year by her peers. Madden led the Warriors to the No. 2 seed in the upcoming NE10 Women's Tennis Championship, finishing only behind regular-season champion Stonehill. Now in her third season with Merrimack, it is her first time receiving the honor. 

Adelphi's Samantha Perri was the only NE10 women's tennis play to earn a First Team nod at two positions, earning it at No. 2 singles and No. 1 doubles with teammate Nicole Kielan. In 2017, Perri was First Team at No. 4 singles and Second Team at No. 2 doubles. 

Stonehill led the way with seven student-athletes honored in total, including four First Team selections - tied with Adelphi for the most of any program. Le Moyne and Merrimack each placed five student-athletes on the All-Conference teams, tied for second-most in the league. The NE10 Player of the Year award is named in honor of former longtime Springfield College head coach Vern Cox.

All-Conference selections are based on record at a given flight, and a minimum number of matches that must be played in order to be eligible.

Vern Cox Player of the Year: Julia Chappell, Assumption
Rookie of the Year: Alexxa Etienne, Southern New Hampshire
Coach of the Year: Dena Madden, Merrimack

2018 NE10 Women's Tennis All-Conference 


No. 1 Singles –            Julia Chappell, Assumption

No. 2 Singles –            Samantha Perri, Adelphi

No. 3 Singles –            Marta Nunez, Le Moyne / Alexxa Etienne, Southern New Hampshire / Samantha Ormesher, Stonehill

No. 4 Singles –            Rosemary Campanella, Merrimack

No. 5 Singles –            Emma Markaryan, Stonehill

No. 6 Singles –            Hope Salts, Merrimack


No. 1 Doubles –          Nicole Kielan/Samantha Perri, Adelphi / Laura Fermosel/Stephanie Gonzalez, New Haven / Anna Sala/Sofia Morais, SNHU*

No. 2 Doubles –          Karen Serina/Nicole Stay, Adelphi

No. 3 Doubles -           Nicole Downey/Caroline Ray, Stonehill



No. 1 Singles -             Laura Fermosel, New Haven / Isabelle Porter, Stonehill

No. 2 Singles -             Alexandra Vo, Stonehill

No. 3 Singles -             Cassie Restrepo, Merrimack

No. 4 Singles -             Nicole Stay, Adelphi

No. 5 Singles -             Valeria Sanchez, Assumption

No. 6 Singles -             Kayla Hodas, Saint Anselm / Ana Maria Escudero, Assumption


No. 1 Doubles -           Isabelle Porter/Bethany Hammond, Stonehill

No. 2 Doubles -           Samantha Ormesher/Alexandra Vo, Stonehill

No. 3 Doubles -           Camila Humala/Brooke Fernandez, Le Moyne



No. 1 Singles -             Nicole Kielan, Adelphi

No. 2 Singles -             Sofia Morais, SNHU

No. 3 Singles -             Maria Monje, Assumption

No. 4 Singles –            Bethany Hammond, Stonehill

No. 5 Singles -             Belen Wibmer, Le Moyne

No. 6 Singles -             Camila Humala, Le Moyne


No. 1 Doubles -           Julia Chappell/Maria Monje, Assumption

No. 2 Doubles -           Marta Nunez/Caroline St. Antoine, Le Moyne

No. 3 Doubles -           Mia Briggs/Lauren Persson, Merrimack


All-Rookie Team

Sophie Roberge – AIC

Ana Escudero – Assumption

Birdem Oz – Le Moyne

Rosemary Campanella – Merrimack

Nicole Mika – New Haven

Emily Jacy – Saint Anselm

Alexxa Etienne – SNHU

Emma Markaryan - Stonehill

Samantha Ormesher – Stonehill

* Earned All-Conference at same position in 2017

The NE10 is an association of 15 diverse institutions serving student-athletes across 24 NCAA Division II sports. Together we build brilliant futures by embracing the journey of every student-athlete. 

Each year, 4,500 student-athletes compete in conference championships, making the NE10 the largest DII conference in the country in terms of sport sponsorship. Leading the way in the classroom, on the field and within the community, the NE10 is proud of its comprehensive program and the experience it provides student-athletes.