Franklin Pierce's Veronica Marques Named NE10 Player of the Year; All-Conference Teams Released

Franklin Pierce's Veronica Marques Named NE10 Player of the Year; All-Conference Teams Released


Southern New Hampshire Leads the Way with Nine All-Conference Honorees, Adelphi, Franklin Pierce Places Four on First Team. 

MANSFIELD, Mass. – Veronica Marques, the leading scorer on the No. 1 seed Franklin Pierce women's soccer team in the NE10 Championship, has been selected Northeast 10 Conference Player of the Year as voted on by the league's head coaches and announced by the conference on Thursday. 

Southern New Hampshire led the way with nine student-athletes recoginzed overall, while Franklin Pierce was second with eight. Marques was one of three Franklin Pierce members to receive major awards, as teammate Marta Turmo was named Defensive Player of the Year and head coach Jonathan Garbar was tabbed as NE10 Coach of the Year. 

For a complete list of the student-athletes that were named all-conference selections and the major award winners, please see below. 

Marques is one of the league's top scorers this season, ranking third in goals (12), fourth in assists (8) and tied for second in points (32). Her offensive prowess led the Ravens to having the second-highest scoring attack in the league this season and to the top seed in the NE10 Championship, which continues with the semifinal round on Friday. A native of Brazil, Marques is a two-time NE10 Player of the Week honoree this year. 

Turmo, Marques' teammate, earned the league's Defensive Player of the Year award after a sensational season on the defensive side of the ball - holding opponents to a 0.79 goals against average. The Ravens pitched seven shutouts with Turmo, a 2017 First Team All-Conference selection, patrolling the backfield. Franklin Pierce hosts fourth-seeded Saint Rose on Friday for a trip to the NE10 championship game on Sunday. 

The Stonehill combination of Kaitlin Brown and Camryn Thompson proved to be vital fort he Skyhawks this season, as the duo earned NE10 Goalkeeper of the Year and Rookie of the Year honors, respectively. The Skyhawks entered the NE10 Championship as the No. 3 seed, before falling in the quarterfinals to No. 6 Assumption on Tuesday. 

Brown played all 18 games in goal for Stonehill this season, logging over 1600 minutes of playing time and surrendering just a 1.22 goals against average. She made 98 saves, third-most in the league, and had a save percentage of .817. She won 13 games in net for the Skyhawks, one of only four goalies to reach double-digit wins around the NE10. 

Thompson was a freshman standout this season, ranking fifth in the NE10 with 24 points and seventh in goals (9). Arguably her best performance of the season came in a two-goal game against Saint Rose back on Sept. 8 - an effort that led Stonehill to a 2-0 victory over the Golden Knights. 

Franklin Pierce's Garbar was named Coach of the Year after leading the Ravens to the top seed in the NE10 Championship with a 12-1-2 record (11-1-2 NE10) in the regular season. Garbar's team looks to finish what it started in 2017, as the Ravens fell in the NE10 Championship game last season after advancing to the final as the No. 4 seed. 


Player of the Year

Veronica Marques, Franklin Pierce

Rookie of the Year

Camryn Thompson, Stonehill

Defensive Player of the Year

Marta Turmo, Franklin Pierce

Goalkeeper of the Year

Kaitlin Brown, Stonehill

Coach of the Year

Jonathan Garber, Franklin Pierce


2018 NE10 Women's Soccer All-Conference

First Team

Kerianne Scorce, F, Adelphi

Kallie Villemaire, F, Assumption

Veronica Marques, F, FPU

Nina Predanic, F, Saint Rose

Anniina Sankoh, M, AIC

Nathalia Da Silva, M, FPU

Gabi Pereira, M, FPU

Caly Farina, M, Saint Anselm

Marta Turmo, D, FPU

Ariana Silvia, D, SNHU

Samantha Sparda, D, SNHU

Tess Erwin, D, Stonehill

Kaitlin Brown, GK, Stonehill


Second Team

Bruna Tavares, F, FPU

Sydney Carney, F, SNHU

Danielle Humphreys, F, SNHU

Camryn Thompson, F, Stonehill

Gigi Guenther, M, Merrimack

Morgan Burchhardt, M, Saint Rose

Sydney Crema, M, SNHU

Courtney Campo, M, Stonehill

Savannah Taylor, D, Adelphi*

Mia York, D, Adelphi

Evie Rodrigues, D, FPU

Nia Brown, D, Saint Rose

Paula Nunez Escobar, D, SCSU*

Marika Laurendeau, GK, Saint Rose


Third Team

Taylor Sipos, F, Adelphi

Federica Frew, F, AIC

Izzy McDonnell, F, Merrimack

Dorthea Glorud, F, SNHU

Michelle Weinecke, M, Adelphi

Ania Spina, M, Assumption

Johanna Wahlen, M, SCSU

Shae Roys, M, SNHU

Florida Ravundra, D, AIC

Micaela Pitts, D, Saint Anselm

Viviana Sebastiano, D, Saint Rose

Lydia Kinsman, D, SNHU

Alexis Nason, GK, Assumption*

Hannah Rose, GK, SNHU*

*Ties in Voting


All-Rookie Team

Sarah Hofmeier, Adelphi

Anniina Sankoh, AIC

Casey Kane, FPU

Jessica Magerman, FPU

Izzy Villar, Pace

Viviana Sebastiano, Saint Rose

Greta Brunello, SCSU

Kelsey Burr, SCSU

Kaitlyn D’Amico, SCSU

Sydney Carney, SNHU

Dorthea Glorud, SNHU

Hannah Rose, SNHU

Camryn Thompson, Stonehill

The NE10 is an association of 15 diverse institutions serving student-athletes across 24 NCAA Division II sports. Together we build brilliant futures by embracing the journey of every student-athlete.

Each year, 4,500 of those student-athletes compete in conference championships in 24 sports, making the NE10 the largest DII conference in the country in terms of sport sponsorship. Leading the way in the classroom, on the field and within the community, the NE10 is proud of its comprehensive program and the experience it provides student-athletes.