Embrace the Championship: SCSU Men Win First-Ever NE10 Cross Country Title

Embrace the Championship: SCSU Men Win First-Ever NE10 Cross Country Title


Owls Win First NE10 Title in Program History

RESULTS: Men's Championship

HOPKINTON, N.H. - The Southern Connecticut State men's cross country team won the 2018 Northeast 10 Men's Cross Country Championship on Sunday afternoon at the Hopkinton State Fairgrounds, as hosted by Franklin Pierce University. 

The Owls took first place with a score of 50 points, beating second place Stonehill college by a seven point margin. It is the first-ever title win for SCSU in men's cross country. 

The Skyhawks finished behind the Owls for second place, while American International (60 points), Southern New Hampshire (91 points) and Merrimack (152 points) rounded-out the top five on a sunny, but cool day, in Hopkinton. 

Four Owls finished in the top 15 as Christopher Lebeau (Bristol, Conn.) took third with a time of 25:02.5, while Terrell Patterson (Waterbury, Conn.) placed seventh with a time of 25:11.4, Connor Shannahan (Enfield, Conn.) finished tenth with a time of 25:17.8 and Jake Mattei (Bethany, Conn.) placed in 11th with a time of 25:18.2.

Steven Cugini - 19th (25:36.9)
Gavin Woodward - 23rd (25:45.2)
Dan Perusina - 38th (26:26.1)
Shawn Odei-Nitri - 41st (26:28.3)
Tyler Mann - 87th (27:58.0)
Jon Warren - 109th (28:55.7)
Haroon Chaudhry - 130th (30:12.1)


Information for this release provided by the athletic communications staff at Southern Connecticut State

The NE10 is an association of 15 diverse institutions serving student-athletes across 24 NCAA Division II sports. Together we build brilliant futures by embracing the journey of every student-athlete. 

Each year, 4,500 student-athletes compete in conference championships, making the NE10 the largest DII conference in the country in terms of sport sponsorship. Leading the way in the classroom, on the field and within the community, the NE10 is proud of its comprehensive program and the experience it provides student-athletes.