Embrace the Championship: Stonehill Women Win 17th NE10 Cross Country Title in Program History

Embrace the Championship: Stonehill Women Win 17th NE10 Cross Country Title in Program History


10th-Straight NE10 Title for the Skyhawks

RESULTS: Women's Championship

HOPKINTON, New Hampshire  - The Stonehill women's cross country team, ranked No. 1 in the U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association East Regional Rankings (USTFCCCA), captured its 17th Northeast 10 Conference Championship in program history and 10th-straight Sunday afternoon at Hopkinton State Fairgrounds.  

Stonehill totaled 20 points in the 15-team competition, as nine Skyhawks earned All-Conference honors, finishing in the top 21. Merrimack College combined for 89 points, taking him the runner up trophy, with their top runner as the sixth-place finisher, and Assumption College finishing third with 145 points. The College of Saint Rose placed fourth with 164 points and Adelphi University rounded out the top five with 168 points.

The Stonehill women dominated the course Sunday afternoon, placing five in the top 10. The Skyhawks saw Anna Lastra win the program's fourth-straight individual title, which Emily Knox '18 won last year and Nicole Borofski '17 won twice prior. This is the third time in Conference history that a school has won the individual title four-straight years, with Springfield College leading the way with six-straight individual titles spanning from 1987-92.

Lastra captured her first NE10 cross country individual title crossing the finish line in 21:57.4 among the 144 competitors in the race. The junior picked up her third cross country All-Conference nod and 10th-career recognition.

Sophomore Sam Curtin finished behind Lastra with a runner-up mark and a time of 22:03.2. She collected her second-career All-Conference honor, as she finished 19th last year. Senior Makenzie Cyr wasn't far behind with her time of 22:08.6, taking home third overall. Cyr collected her fourth cross country All-Conference honor and sixth career honor.

Senior Isabel Baker finished fifth with her second-career top-five finish, clocking in a time of 22:12.0 for her first-career All-Conference accolade. Junior Alyssa Freeman was the next Skyhawk across the finish line clocking in a time of 22:24.0, taking home her second-career cross country All-Conference honor and sixth career recognition.

Freshman Rebecca Erhard, running in her first NE10 Championship placed 15thoverall crossing the finish line of the six-kilometer race in 22:36.7 for her first All-Conference honor. Junior Jordan Callahan followed immediately followed, in 16thwith a time of 22:38.0, earning her second-career All-Conference accolade.

Sophomore Sophia Anderle was named to the NE10 All-Conference third team for her second-career honor finishing 19th with a time of 22:50.2 in her second Championship, while freshman Siobhan O'Keefe was also named to the NE10 All-Conference third team with her first appearance in the NE10 Championship with a time of 22:50.5. Rounding out the top 25 results for the Skyhawks was senior Jillian Caiazzi taking home 22nd with a time of 22:58.2 in her third NE10 Championship.

Other Performances:

Kelly Higgins  – 27th, 23:14.5
Danika Wayss  – 33rd, 23:35.0
Kacie Higgins  – 37th, 23:39.2
Claire Mason  – 38th, 23:40.2

Merrimack (89 points) and Assumption (145 points) finished as runners-up behind the Skyhawks. 



The NE10 is an association of 15 diverse institutions serving student-athletes across 24 NCAA Division II sports. Together we build brilliant futures by embracing the journey of every student-athlete. 

Each year, 4,500 student-athletes compete in conference championships, making the NE10 the largest DII conference in the country in terms of sport sponsorship. Leading the way in the classroom, on the field and within the community, the NE10 is proud of its comprehensive program and the experience it provides student-athletes.