Merrimack Picked to Repeat as NE10 Men's Lacrosse Champion in Coaches' Poll

Merrimack Picked to Repeat as NE10 Men's Lacrosse Champion in Coaches' Poll


Reigning National Champion Merrimack Sits Atop Coaches’ Poll.

MANSFIELD, Mass. – Merrimack, the 2018 NCAA national champion, was chosen to finish first in the Northeast 10 Conference Men’s Lacrosse Coaches’ Poll on Tuesday afternoon – tallying 11 of 12 first-place votes from the league’s head coaches.

Complete results for the poll are below.

The Warriors, coming off an 18-1 campaign and the program’s first-ever NCAA title, garnered 121 total points in the poll, edging Le Moyne (109 points) and Adelphi (99 points, one first-place vote) for the top spot. Merrimack defeated Saint Leo on May 27 at Gillette Stadium to become the second NE10 team to win a national championship in the past three seasons (Le Moyne in 2016).

In addition to the NCAA championship, Merrimack captured the NE10 crown with a victory over Saint Anselm – earning its first league title since 2010. Le Moyne, NCAA champions in 2013 and 2016, has won four NE10 titles since 2012.

Le Moyne and Adelphi, who have combined to win seven of the last eight NE10 championships, will be fierce contenders with Merrimack this season. All three teams have been ranked in the top five of the USILA Preseason Poll for 2019, with Merrimack sitting at No. 1 and Le Moyne at No. 2 nationally.

NE10 runner-up Saint Anselm took fourth place with 94 points, keeping it crowded at the top of the poll in a very talented league. Pace (79) and Bentley (63) rounded-out the upper half of the voting results.

The 2019 season begins on Wednesday, Feb. 13, when American International travels to play Mercy. The NE10 Men’s Lacrosse Championship is slated to begin on April 27 with the quarterfinal round, followed by the semifinals on May 1 and the championship game on May 4.

2019 NE10 Men's Lacrosse Coaches' Poll
1. Merrimack - 121 (11)

2. Le Moyne - 109

3. Adelphi – 99 (1)

4. Saint Anselm - 94

5. Pace - 79

6. Bentley - 63

7. So. New Hampshire - 57

8. Assumption - 56

9. Saint Rose - 51

10. Franklin Pierce - 32

11. Saint Michael’s - 20

12. American International - 11

The NE10 is an association of 15 diverse institutions serving student-athletes across 24 NCAA Division II sports. Together we build brilliant futures by embracing the journey of every student-athlete.

Each year, 4,500 student-athletes compete in conference championships, making the NE10 the largest DII conference in the country in terms of sport sponsorship. Leading the way in the classroom, on the field and within the community, the NE10 is proud of its comprehensive program and the experience it provides student-athletes.