Embrace the Victory: Saint Anselm Claims No. 1 Seed in NE10 Ice Hockey Championship

Embrace the Victory: Saint Anselm Claims No. 1 Seed in NE10 Ice Hockey Championship


Saint Anselm and SNHU Hosting Semifinal Games on Saturday.

MANSFIELD, Mass. - Saint Anselm, the 2019 Northeast 10 Conference regular-season champion, enters the conference championship as the No. 1 seed after a 10-4-1 record in league play - good for 21 points. A three-way tie existed in the standings after the Hawks, which was won by Southern New Hampshire due to a mini-conference tiebreaker with Saint Michael's and Assumption, earning the Penmen the No. 2 seed and a home game in the semifinals. 

For more information on the NE10 championship and schedule, please see below. Semifinal matchups are set for Saturday, Feb. 23 at 1 p.m. at the higher seed's home site. 

The Hawks will host Assumption in the No. 1 vs. No. 4 game - posing a good matchup as the teams went 1-1-1 in their three-game series this season. The Penmen will welcome Saint Michael's - a team it went 1-0-2 against in the season. The championship game is slated for Saturday, March 2, to be broadcast live on NE10 NOW. 

Below is the seeding and schedule for the 2019 NE10 Ice Hockey Championship. 
1. Saint Anselm (10-4-1; 21 points)
2. Southern New Hampshire (7-5-3; 17 points) ^
3. Saint Michael’s (7-5-3; 17 points) ^
4. Assumption (7-5-3; 17 points) ^
^ SNHU, Saint Michael’s and Assumption finished in a three way tie, with 17 point each. SNHU earned the #2 seed, finishing 2-1-3 in the mini-conference for a total of 7 points. Saint Michael’s earned the #3 seed (2-2-2 for 6 points in the mini-conference) and won the head-to-head regular season series with Assumption (2-1).

Saturday, February 23rd        
Semifinals ­
Game 1:  #3 Saint Michael’s at #2 SNHU (1:00 PM)
Game 2: #4 Assumption at #1 Saint Anselm (1:00 PM)
Saturday, March 2nd      
Championship (to be held at highest remaining seed) ­
Game 3:  Game 1 winner vs. Game 2 winner
*Game times shall be subject to the availability of ice facilities. The preferred start time for all championship games is 1:00 pm.

The NE10 is an association of 15 diverse institutions serving student-athletes across 24 NCAA Division II sports. Together we build brilliant futures by embracing the journey of every student-athlete.

Each year, 4,500 of those student-athletes compete in conference championships in 24 sports, making the NE10 the largest DII conference in the country in terms of sport sponsorship. Leading the way in the classroom, on the field and within the community, the NE10 is proud of its comprehensive program and the experience it provides student-athletes.