Merrimack's Bertrand Takes Home Player of the Year, as NE10 Releases Men's Lacrosse Awards

Merrimack's Bertrand Takes Home Player of the Year, as NE10 Releases Men's Lacrosse Awards


Adelphi, Le Moyne and Merrimack Each Garner One Major Award After Sharing Regular-Season Title.

MANSFIELD, Mass. – Merrimack’s Charlie Bertrand took home the 2019 Northeast 10 Conference Men’s Lacrosse Player of the Year award, as the league announced major awards and all-conference teams on Wednesday. For a complete list of honorees, as voted on by NE10 head coaches, please see below.

Adelphi, the top seed in the NE10 Championship, had 10 players voted to All-Conference Teams to lead all programs – including five on the First Team. Le Moyne ranked second with nine and Merrimack, defending NE10 and NCAA champion, had eight.

Adelphi, Le Moyne and Merrimack – the three programs who shared the NE10 regular-season title – are all ranked in the top 5 of the USILA Poll. Each team had one player earn a major award, with Bertrand earning the league’s top honor.

Bertrand helped lead the Warriors to a first round victory in the NE10 Championship on Saturday, following a 10-1 regular season in league play. He led all NE10 players in goals (58) and finished third in points (73), while boasting a 52.3 shot percentage. Bertrand led all of Division II with 5.27 goals per game. He also was named a First Team All-Conference selection for the second-straight year.

Le Moyne’s Zac Prattson earned his second-straight NE10 Defensive Player of the Year award. The Dolphins, ranked No. 3 in the country, counted on Prattson on the defensive side – who helped his team allow just 7.20 goals per game, the lowest mark in Division II. In 11 of 15 games, Le Moyne allowed fewer than 10 goals. Prattson ranked 23rd in the NE10 in ground balls (41) and 10th in caused turnovers (19). He is a First Team All-Conference defender.

Adelphi’s Brendan McDougal led the Panthers, ranked No. 2 in the country, to the top seed of the NE10 Championship after posting a save percentage of 58.2 – second-best in the league. He had 15 wins, more than any other NE10 goalkeeper, and had a 7.82 goals against average – also second-best in the NE10. His trademark game came against Le Moyne, making 19 saves despite the losing effort. He was also named a First Team player.

Pace’s Louis Ragusa earned Rookie of the Year after helping the Setters to the No. 4 seed in the NE10 Championship. He ranked third in saves (161) and fourth in goals against average (9.2), making double-digit saves in nine of 15 games this season. Ragusa was a three-time NE10 Rookie of the Week and also took home a Goalkeeper of the Week during the regular season.

Bentley head coach Jim Murphy was recognized as NE10 Coach of the Year by his peers, following a 9-4 season – including a 7-4 mark in conference play. The Falcons reached the NE10 Championship as the No. 5 seed. Four of Murphy’s players were named All-Conference, including goalkeeper Michael Haggan on the Second Team.


2019 NE10 Men's Lacrosse All-Conference Awards

Player of the Year

Charlie Bertrand, Merrimack

Defensive Player of the Year

Zac Prattson, Le Moyne

Goalkeeper of the Year

Brendan McDougal, Adelphi

Rookie of the Year

Louis Ragusa, Pace

Coach of the Year

Jim Murphy, Bentley


First Team

A – Ian Kirby, Adelphi

A – Charlie Bertrand, Merrimack &

A – Sean Black, Merrimack %#

A – Matt Hutchings, Le Moyne

M – Dan Entenmann, Le Moyne &

M – Bradley Paterson, Pace

M – Anthony Busconi, Saint Anselm &

D – Justin Napolitano, Adelphi %

D – Zac Prattson, Le Moyne &

D – Daniel Lewis, Pace

SSDM – Andrew French, Le Moyne %

LSM – Sean McGovern, Adelphi #

Faceoff Specialist – Mark Andrejack, Adelphi &

GK – Brendan McDougal, Adelphi

Second Team

A – Nicolas Racalbuto, Adelphi &

A – Daniel Keenan, Pace

A – Patrick Sweeney, Saint Anselm %

M – John Arcidiacono, Adelphi %

M – Michael Osmundsen, Adelphi &

M – Michael O’Connell, Merrimack

D – Jack Thomann, Adelphi

D – Connor Haims, Le Moyne %#

D – Dan Cotnoir, Merrimack

SSDM – Brian Smith, Adelphi

LSM – Thomas Mapstone, Saint Anselm #

Faceoff Specialist – Nicolas Johnson, Saint Rose

GK – Michael Haggan, Bentley

Third Team

A – Riley Larson, Le Moyne

A – Christian Thomas, Merrimack #

A – Carter Badour, Saint Rose %

M – Matt Brooks, Bentley

M – Wyatt Barfoot, Pace

M – Xavier Quinn, Saint Anselm

D – Tim Tierney, Assumption

D – Will Moriarty, Saint Michael’s

D – Tyler Mello, Southern N.H.

SSDM – Connor Baughan, Bentley

SSDM – Patrick Mulcahy, Pace

LSM – Jake Lutz, Le Moyne

Faceoff Specialist – Sam Kury, Le Moyne

GK – Nick Ponte, Merrimack

All-Rookie Team

James Bifulco, Adelphi

Avery Foye, American Int’l

Rony Lopez, American Int’l

Rusty Stone, American Int’l

Jason Vickery, American Int’l

Sean Laughlin, Assumption

Ben Baldasaro, Bentley

Lawrence Bastianelli, Franklin Pierce

Sam Kury, Le Moyne

Max Morrill, Merrimack

Nicholas Perez-Blanco, Merrimack

Louis Ragusa, Pace

Jake Richter, Pace

Jack Wells, Saint Anselm

Max Djusberg, Saint Michael’s

Drew Carpino, Saint Rose

Dominic Meola, Saint Rose

Tristan Pietz, Southern N.H.

Chris Valentine, Southern N.H.


& - First Team Selection in 2018

% - Second Team Selection in 2018

# - All-Rookie Team Selection in 2018

The NE10 is an association of 15 diverse institutions serving student-athletes across 24 NCAA Division II sports. Together we build brilliant futures by embracing the journey of every student-athlete.

Each year, 4,500 of those student-athletes compete in conference championships in 24 sports, making the NE10 the largest DII conference in the country in terms of sport sponsorship. Leading the way in the classroom, on the field and within the community, the NE10 is proud of its comprehensive program and the experience it provides student-athletes.