SNHU's Garczynski Named NE10 Softball Player of the Year, as All-Conference Teams Announced

SNHU's Garczynski Named NE10 Softball Player of the Year, as All-Conference Teams Announced


Adelphi, Saint Anselm and SNHU Take Major Awards.

MANSFIELD, Mass. – Southern New Hampshire’s Erin Garczynski has been tabbed the Northeast 10 Conference Softball Player of the Year, as all-conference teams and major awards – as voted on by the league’s head coaches – were released by the league office on Wednesday afternoon.

For a complete list of honorees, please see the list below. Saint Anselm, the Northeast Division regular-season champion, led all schools with eight selections to All-Conference teams, while Adelphi and Southern New Hampshire had five each.

The NE10 Softball Championship began on Tuesday with First Round action, as the top two seeds in each division had byes. With championship weekend looming at Saint Anselm from Thursday to Saturday, six teams prepare to compete for the NE10 title. Both top seeds – Saint Anselm and Adelphi – each grabbed at least one major award  in addition to SNHU.

Garczynski led the NE10 with a remarkable .428 batting average in 48 games this season, due in large part to her 62 hits – second-most in the league. She blasted six home runs and tallied 32 RBI, while smacking a league-high 17 doubles. Equally impressive was her defense – accounting for 250 putouts and 23 assists without a single error. She helped the Penmen get the No. 2 seed in the Northeast and will play Pace on Thursday.

Saint Anselm’s Morgan Perry was a unanimous selection as the Pitcher of the Year, going an astounding 15-0 (20-5 overall) in NE10 play over 16 appearances this season. She tallied 186 strikeouts in 160 innings of work during the year– including 114 in 99 innings of conference play. Her ERA of 0.99 was second-best among league pitchers in NE10 games. Behind her efforts, the Hawks claimed the Northeast Division regular-season crown.

Perry’s teammate, Kylie Fitzpatrick, was elected Defensive Player of the Year for her stellar performance in the field. A second baseman for the Hawks, she recorded a perfect fielding percentage in conference play – tallying 41 putouts and 32 assists on 73 total chances. In 31 overall games, she was perfect on 94 total chances, serving as another reason for the Hawks’ success.

Adelphi’s Emily Whitman had a spectacular freshman campaign, hitting .415 in conference play and .398 overall, on her way to becoming Rookie of the Year. Whitman’s efforts, which helped the Panthers claim the Southwest Division regular-season crown, included five home runs, 30 RBI and a league-high eight triples – five of which came in NE10 action.

Saint Anselm’s Jill Gagnon, who got the Hawks to their first-ever No. 1 ranking in the NFCA Poll in late February, was elected Coach of the Year for her program’s 35-8 overall record and 23-2 mark in the NE10 play – as well as a 19-2 record in the Northeast Division. The Hawks have earned the right to host NE10 Softball Championship weekend as the top seed out of the Northeast.

NE10 Softball All-Conference Awards

Player of the Year

Erin Garczynski, SNHU

Pitcher of the Year

Morgan Perry, Saint Anselm

Defensive Player of the Year

Kylie Fitzpatrick, Saint Anselm

Rookie of the Year

Emily Whitman, Adelphi

Coach of the Year:

Jill Gagnon, Saint Anselm


First Team

1B  Emily Turney, Adelphi %

2B  Emily Whitman, Adelphi

SS   Alyssa Beaton, Assumption

3B  Lauren Washburn, Saint Anselm/Alexa Bacoulis, SCSU

C    Erin Garczynski, SNHU %

OF  Ariella Acosta, Pace

OF  Astasia Myler, Saint Rose

OF  Shannon Colson, Saint Anselm #

DP  Peyton Bellrose, Le Moyne

P    Morgan Perry, Saint Anselm %

P    Maddy Barone, SNHU #

P    Ally Muller, Adelphi ^

UT  Mya Case, New Haven

Second Team

1B  Annie Carberry, Pace

2B  Emma Carruth, Pace

SS   Tiffany Mangiameli, Merrimack

SS   Jordan O’Connor, Saint Anselm #

3B  Michelle Theilgard, Stonehill #^

C    Nicoletta Cuccio, Adelphi %

OF  Julia Mazzeo, Assumption

OF  Sierra Whitlock, New Haven

OF  Maggie Murphy, Saint Anselm %

OF  Lindsey Ah Soon, Pace

DP  Genna Hartman, Stonehill

P    Olivia Strasser, SNHU

UT  Torie Rathwell, Saint Michael’s #

Third Team

1B Emily Carbonneau, SNHU

1B Briana Bowen, Saint Rose

2B Kylie Fitzpatrick, Saint Anselm

SS Taylor Luzzi, New Haven &

3B Luciella Colarusso, Merrimack

C    Ella Hillier, Bentley

OF  Nicole Nanof, Merrimack #

OF  Jordan Wade, SNHU

DP  Madison Leite, Saint Anselm

DP  Hannah Pineda, Adelphi

P    Ava Fitzmaurice, New Haven

P    Courtney Fisher, Saint Anselm %^

UT  Cat Simmons, Franklin Pierce

All-Rookie Team

Emily Whitman, Adelphi

Ella Hillier, Bentley

Allie Martinez, Franklin Pierce

Cat Simmons, Franklin Pierce

Jenna Wike, Merrimack

Mya Case, New Haven

Ava Fitzmaurice, New Haven

Mia Iodice, New Haven

Ariella Acosta, Pace

Kylie Fitzpatrick, Saint Anselm

Alexa Bacoulis, SCSU

Liz DeRosa, SCSU

Emily Carbonneau, SNHU


& - First Team Selection in 2018

% - Second Team Selection in 2018

# - Third Team Selection in 2018

^ - All-Rookie Team Selection in 2018

The NE10 is an association of 15 diverse institutions serving student-athletes across 24 NCAA Division II sports. Together we build brilliant futures by embracing the journey of every student-athlete.

Each year, 4,500 of those student-athletes compete in conference championships in 24 sports, making the NE10 the largest DII conference in the country in terms of sport sponsorship. Leading the way in the classroom, on the field and within the community, the NE10 is proud of its comprehensive program and the experience it provides student-athletes.