Embrace the Learning: NE10 Releases Scholar-Athlete of the Year Nominations

Embrace the Learning: NE10 Releases Scholar-Athlete of the Year Nominations


30 Student-Athletes Up for NE10 Scholar-Athlete  of the Year.

MANSFIELD, Mass. – The Northeast 10 Conference unveiled its nominees for the Male and Female Scholar-Athlete of the Year awards, which is one of the most prestigious awards the league hands out each year.

For the complete list of nominees - one male and one female student-athlete from each member institution - please see below.

A committee made up of faculty members and athletic administrators conducts voting for the Scholar-Athlete awards. The two student-athletes that are selected will be recognized at the NE10 year-end banquet Monday, June 3 in Springfield, Mass. at the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame.

To be eligible for nomination for these prestigious awards, a student-athlete must be in their final year of athletic eligibility during 2018-19, must be graduating with a degree this May (unless in a master’s program), must be enrolled in a full-time course load, and must have a minimum final cumulative grade point average of a 3.30.

2018-19 NE10 Scholar-Athlete of the Year Nominees

Brendan McDougal, Adelphi, Lacrosse
Nicholas Romei, American International, Soccer
Travis Reid, Assumption, Lacrosse
Jack Hansbury, Bentley, Football
Luke Tracy, Franklin Pierce, Lacrosse
Andres Hernandez, Le Moyne, Tennis
Matthew Ronai, Merrimack, Baseball
Michael Kandolin, New Haven, Track & Field
Daniel Galarza, Pace, Swimming
Jonathan Dunn, Saint Anselm, Baseball
Levi A. Holmes, III, Saint Michael's, Basketball
Matt Cerutti, Saint Rose, Basketball
Drew Dantino, Southern Connecticut State, Swimming
Jake Walkinshaw, Southern New Hampshire, Baseball
Alexander Demeule, Stonehill, Cross Country/Track & Field

2018-19 NE10 Scholar-Athlete of the Year Nominees

Chelsea Abreu, Adelphi, Lacrosse
Dolores Kopren, AIC, Volleyball
Abby Jones, Assumption, Track & Field
Stephanie Mattson, Bentley, Track & Field
Marta Turmo, Franklin Pierce, Soccer
Bryanna Fazio, Le Moyne, Lacrosse
Delaney Yule, Merrimack, Field Hockey
Madison Derosia, New Haven, Softball
Paige Predmore, Pace, Field Hockey
Madison Bressler, Saint Anselm, Field Hockey
Emily Ferreri, Saint Michael’s, Basketball
Julianne Johnston, Saint Rose, Soccer
Leanna Jadus, Southern Connecticut State, Volleyball
Ashely Elder, Southern New Hampshire, Track & Field
Krista Fernandes, Stonehill, Track & Field

The NE10 is an association of 15 diverse institutions serving student-athletes across 24 NCAA Division II sports. Together we build brilliant futures by embracing the journey of every student-athlete. 

Each year, 4,500 student-athletes compete in conference championships, making the NE10 the largest DII conference in the country in terms of sport sponsorship. Leading the way in the classroom, on the field and within the community, the NE10 is proud of its comprehensive program and the experience it provides student-athletes.