SNHU's Paradis, Merrimack's Knight Tabbed NE10 Players of the Year, as All-Conference Teams Released

SNHU's Paradis, Merrimack's Knight Tabbed NE10 Players of the Year, as All-Conference Teams Released


Paradis, Knight Win Player of the Year Honors.

MANSFIELD, Mass. – Southern New Hampshire’s Matt Paradis and Merrimack’s Krystal Knight have been named Northeast-10 Conference Players of the Year, as voted on by the league’s head coaches and announced by the league office on Monday afternoon.

The NE10 released the 2018-19 Golf All-Conference Teams, in addition to announcing major awards. A pair of men’s golfers earned repeat First Team honors, while a trio of women’s golfers recorded a second-consecutive nod to the First Team. For a complete list of winners, please see below.

Paradis, the individual medalist at the NE10 Championship this past fall, helped SNHU to its best-ever finish in the NCAA Championship in May at The Resort at Glade Springs. He shot a 219 over three rounds in the NCAA’s, finishing in a tie for 35th – leading the Penmen to a 15th-place finish overall. His 5-under 211 at the Totteridge Golf Club led SNHU to the NCAA Atlantic/East Regional crown.

Knight became Merrimack’s first-ever Women’s Golf Coaches Association All-American after capturing a 19th-place finish at the NCAA Championship. She caps-off a tremendous career for the Knights, helping them to an NE10 title in the fall – their fourth in the last five seasons. She is only the second student-athlete in school history to qualify as an individual for NCAA’s. Knight averaged 73.92 strokes over 25 rounds this season, the 13th-lowest average among all Division II golfers.

Assumption’s Lucas Roop took home Rookie of the Year and John O’Hara won Coach of the Year, as announced on Monday. Both helped lead the Greyhounds to a third-place finish in the NE10 Championship back in late September/early October. Assumption qualified for the NCAA Regional Championship for the first time since 2016, where it finished in ninth place.

Merrimack’s Jordan Laplume won Rookie of the Year and Jason Malcolm earned Coach of the Year, as the Warriors swept major awards on the women’s side. Laplume and Malcolm contributed to Merrimack’s fourth NE10 title in the past five seasons, while the Warriors placed 11th in the NCAA Regional Championship.

It is the third-consecutive First Team recognition for Paradis and Le Moyne’s Jon Petrin, as well as Knight, Franklin Pierce’s Zoey Yamamoto and Le Moyne’s Bianca Cruz Hernandez.

Player of the Year:       Matt Paradis, SNHU
Rookie of the Year:      Lucas Roop, Assumption
Coach of the Year:       John O’Hara, Assumption


Andrew Sanzaro, Assumption
Tommy Ethier, Bentley^
Chris Simione, Bentley^
Jon Petrin, Le Moyne*
Matt Paradis, SNHU*


Mark Bryant, Assumption
Robert Falconer, Bentley
Dylan Plis, Franklin Pierce*
Nick Barney, Le Moyne
Matt Johnson, Saint Michael’s


Augustin De Cordes, AIC
Keeton Foster, Franklin Pierce^
Sam Myers, Franklin Pierce
Nathan Patterson, Franklin Pierce
Ryan Anderson, SNHU

* First Team Selection in 2018
^ Second Team Selections in 2018

Player of the Year:       Krystal Knight, Merrimack
Rookie of the Year:      Jordan Laplume, Merrimack
Coach of the Year:
      Jason Malcolm, Merrimack


Catherine French, Assumption
Taylor Hartley, Franklin Pierce
Zoey Yamamoto, Franklin Pierce*
Bianca Cruz Hernandez, Le Moyne*
Krystal Knight, Merrimack*
Hannah May, SNHU


Sydney White, Adelphi
Sarah Daley, Franklin Pierce^
Christine Songcuan, Franklin Pierce
Nina Harrington, Merrimack
Jordan Laplume, Merrimack
Sloane Van Zanen, Stonehill


Paulette Romero, AIC
Olivia Dempster, Merrimack
Morgan Mitchell, SNHU

* - First Team Selection in 2018
^ - Second Team Selections in 2018

The NE10 is an association of 15 diverse institutions serving student-athletes across 24 NCAA Division II sports. Together we build brilliant futures by embracing the journey of every student-athlete.

Each year, 4,500 of those student-athletes compete in conference championships in 24 sports, making the NE10 the largest DII conference in the country in terms of sport sponsorship. Leading the way in the classroom, on the field and within the community, the NE10 is proud of its comprehensive program and the experience it provides student-athletes.