NE-10 Announces 'Best of the Best' Nominees

NE-10 Announces 'Best of the Best' Nominees



May 12, 2015

MANSFIELD, Mass. – The Northeast-10 Conference is pleased to announce its nominees for Male and Female Outstanding Scholar-Athlete of the Year. 

A committee made up of faculty members and athletic administrators conducts voting for the Outstanding Scholar-Athlete awards. The two student-athletes will be recognized at the Northeast-10 annual year-end banquet next month.

The criteria for being nominated for Scholar-Athlete award states a student-athlete must be in their final year of athletic eligibility during 2014-15, must be graduating with a degree this May (unless in a master’s program), must be enrolled in a full-time course load, and must have a minimum final cumulative grade point average of a 3.30. 

For a complete list of the nominees, please see below.

The male nominees are Adelphi University's Juan Aguiar, American International College’s Daniel Backx, Assumption College’s Brennen Shaw, Bentley University’s Danny Guadagnoli, Franklin Pierce University’s Ryen Vilmont, Le Moyne College’s Keleenna Onyeaka, Merrimack College’s Vince Bellino, University of New Haven’s Anthony Greenfield, Pace University’s Steven Callahan, Saint Anselm College’s Sean Jenkins, Saint Michael’s College’s Eric Robinson, The College of Saint Rose’s Pat Sunday, Southern Connecticut State Univerisity's Luke Houston (pictured), Southern New Hampshire University’s Philip Tripodakis, and Stonehill College’s Bryan Wilcox.

The female nominees are Adelphi’s Alexa Froccaro, American Int’l’s Krista Ferrentino, Assumption’s Abigail Heroth, Bentley’s Gina Lirange (pictured), Franklin Pierce’s Catie Swiderski, Le Moyne’s Alex Marple, Merrimack’s Ali Reed, New Haven’s Ivy Watts, Pace’s Jeane Drury, Saint Anselm’s Kasey Moran, Saint Michael’s’ Colleen Gilliatt, Saint Rose’s Carmelina Puopolo, Southern Connecticut State University’s Sarah Brochu, So. New Hampshire’s Lindsay Bucknam, and Stonehill’s Emily Iverson.

2015 Northeast-10 Male Scholar-Athlete Nominees
Adelphi – Juan Aguiar
American International – Daniel Backx
Assumption – Brennen Shaw
Bentley – Danny Guadagnoli
Franklin Pierce – Ryen Vilmont
Le Moyne – Keleenna Onyeaka
Merrimack – Vincent Bellino
New Haven – Anthony Greenfield
Pace – Steven Callahan
Saint Anselm – Sean Jenkins
Saint Michael's – Eric Robinson
Saint Rose – Pat Sunday
Southern Connecticut – Luke Houston
Southern New Hampshire – Phillip Tripodakis
Stonehill – Bryan Wilcox

2015 Northeast-10 Female Scholar-Athlete Nominees
Adelphi – Alexa Froccaro
American International – Krista Ferrentino
Assumption – Abigail Heroth
Bentley – Gina Lirange
Franklin Pierce – Catie Swiderski
Le Moyne – Alex Marple
Merrimack – Ali Reed
New Haven – Ivy Watts
Pace – Jeane Drury
Saint Anselm – Kasey Moran
Saint Michael's – Colleen Gilliatt
Saint Rose – Carmelina Puopolo
Southern Connecticut – Sarah Brochu
Southern New Hampshire – Lindsay Bucknam
Stonehill – Emily Iverson

The Northeast-10 Conference is an association of 15 NCAA Division II colleges and universities located in New England and New York that is committed to supporting balanced academic and athletic opportunities for more than 6,500 student-athletes.

Each year, 4,500 of those student-athletes compete in conference championships in 24 sports, making the NE-10 the largest DII conference in the country in terms of sport sponsorship. Leading the way in the classroom, on the field and within the community, the Northeast-10 is proud of its comprehensive program and the experience it provides student-athletes.