NE10 Announces Prestigious Academic Honors for Winter Season

NE10 Announces Prestigious Academic Honors for Winter Season



Le Moyne's Tim Buff Honored as Sport Excellence Award Winner for 3rd Straight Year 

MANSFIELD, Mass. - The Northeast-10 Conference announced its Academic All-Conference teams along with the Sport Excellence Award winners for the 2016-17 winter season today.

To see all those that were honored by the league, please see below.

To be eligible for selection to the Northeast-10 Academic All-Conference Teams, a student-athlete must have met or exceeded the following minimum requirements: 1) participated in at least half of the team's competitions and been either a starter or significant contributor; 2) achieved a 3.30 cumulative grade point average (on a 4.0 scale); and 3) completed at least one academic year at his/her current institution.

In total, 67 student-athletes representing 14 NE10 member institutions were recognized with Academic All-Conference honors. The total of 67 honorees is five more than were tabbed during the same time period during the 2015-16 academic year.

Additionally, one Scholar-Athlete Sport Excellence Award winner was chosen from each of the following seven winter sports: men’s and women’s basketball, men’s ice hockey, men’s and women’s indoor track & field, as well as men’s and women’s swimming and diving.

Bentley and Southern Connecticut led the way with nine academic all-conference choices. Assumption was next with six honorees, while Adelphi, Merrimack, and Saint Michael's each had five winter-sport student-athletes recognized.

Four Saint Rose men's basketball players and four men's swimmers from Le Moyne were recognized, marking the highest number from one program during the winter season. The Golden Knights advanced to the regional final in March. Four Le Moyne men's swimmers were also recognized.

Saint Michael's was the only school with more than one Sport Excellence Award winner as Danny Divis from the ice hockey team and Lindsay McNall from the swimming program were both selected. Le Moyne swimmer Tim Buff, Merrimack sprinter Carly Muscaro, and Saint Michael's' Divis were all selected as repeat Sport Excellence Award honorees. For Buff, it's the third-straight year which he's been selected.


Saint Rose's Tyler Sayre was selected as the Sport Excellence Award winner in the sport of men's basketball. The senior has a 3.83 grade point average, and is majoring in finance. He averaged 13 points for the Golden Knights, who advance to the Sweet 16 of this year's NCAA Tournament. He is a two-time CoSIDA Academic All-American, as well as a three-time NE10 All-Conference selection (including this past season). He recently completed his career as the 5th all-time leading scorer in Saint Rose history with 1,772 career points.

Adelphi's Sierra Clark was honored in the sport of women's basketball. Clark, who recently completed her career by leading the Panthers to an NE10 title, is a 3.612 student-athlete majoring in communications. The 1st-Team All-Conference selection was also named to the CoSIDA Academic All-America Third Team. She set the program's single-season scoring record and finished her season having recorded 19 'double-doubles,' which is among the national leaders.

The NE10 Sport Excellence Award winner from the sport of ice hockey was given to Danny Divis of Saint Michael’s. Divis earns the award for the second consecutive season. The senior english major has a 3.83 GPA. This past season, he led all NE10 defenseman in both assists (15) and points (19). Divis was a Hockey Humanitarian Award finalist, and was a 1st-Team All-Conference selection this past season. 

Stonehill junior Mark Hamalian was tabbed in the sport of Men's Indoor Track and Field. The junior is currently carrying a 3.95 GPA, while majoring in physics. Hamalian, who competes in field events for the Skyhawks, earned USTFCCCA All East Region honors in the heptathlon for the second consecutive year. He's also the recipient of the St. Thomas Aquinas medal for having the highes cumulative GPA on the team. 

Merrimack’s Carly Muscaro earned the honor in women’s indoor track & field for the second consecutive year. Muscaro, a senior criminal justice major with a 3.89 GPA, won two national titles at the recently-held NCAA Championships, taking both the 200 meter and 400 meter events. She was recently honored as the USTFCCCA Track Athlete of the Year and the NE10 Women’s Indoor Track Athlete of the Year.

The Sport Excellence Award winner for men’s swimming and diving once again goes to Le Moyne’s Timothy Buff. A senior swimmer, Buff has now been honored for the third straight season. He currently boasts a 3.964 GPA while majoring in business finance and marketing. He registered three top-two finishes at the NE10 Championships, including winning the 400-yard individual medley in school-record time. Buff was also the 2015 and 2016 NE10 Sport Excellence Award recipient in the sport.

Saint Michael's Lindsay McNall earned the honor in women's swimming and diving. The senior has a 3.53 while majoring in philosophy and political science. She recently took part in the NCAA Championships, becoming the first student-athlete in school history to compete at the event representing the Purple Knights. McNall competed in two events and earned All-American status in the 100-yard backstroke. She was also the NE10 champion in the 100-yard and 200-yard backstroke. 

Winter 2016-17 NE10 Academic All-Conference

Men's Basketball (7)
Michael Coffey, Adelphi
Russell Sangster, Le Moyne
Levi Holmes III, Saint Michael's
Chris Dorgler, Saint Rose 
Jack Jones, Saint Rose
Julian Lipinski, Saint Rose
Tyler Sayre, Saint Rose^#

Women's Basketball (10)
Sierra Clark, Adelphi#

Jo Impellizeri, Assumption
Savannah Johnson, Merrimack
Hannah Neild, Merrimack
Alexandria Kerr, New Haven
Jaclyn Oskam, Pace
Emily Ferreri, Saint Michael's
Taylor McLaughlin, Southern Connecticut  
Murphy Murad, Southern Connecticut
Kylie Lorenzen, Southern New Hampshire 

Ice Hockey (6)
Stephen Picard, Assumption#
Jonathan Haun, Franklin Pierce#
Alex Schleper, Franklin Pierce
Danny Divis, Saint Michael’s *#
Joe Collins, Southern New Hampshire
Billy Palmer, Stonehill 

Men's Indoor Track & Field (10)
Mitchell Byrne, American International#
Alex Cerbo, Assumption
Erik Alatalo, Bentley#
Tim Bolick, Bentley#
Matthew Civilette, Le Moyne
Niall Coughlin, Merrimack
Michael Kandolin, New Haven
Santino Giannini, Southern Connecticut
Luke Velez, Southern Connecticut#
Mark Hamalian, Stonehill# 

Women's Indoor Track & Field (16)
Nicole Elarde, Adelphi
Emily Hagarty, Adelphi#
Jennifer Fannon, American International
Olivia Magni, American International
Sara Amato, Assumption
Rachel Avard, Assumption*#
Steph Mattson, Bentley
Julia Morena, Bentley
Danielle Crawford, Franklin Pierce
Lauren MacGregor, Merrimack
Carly Muscaro, Merrimack*#
Riley Knebes, New Haven#
Adriana Carrasco, Southern Connecticut#
Kathryn Heacox, Southern Connecticut#
Christine Volz, Southern Connecticut
Aisha McAdams, Stonehill#

Men's Swimming and Diving (8)
Matt Ahelmeyer, Bentley
Frank Elenio, Bentley
Timothy Buff, Le Moyne*#

Greg Kelly, Le Moyne
Andrew Raiola, Le Moyne#
Phil Stolarski, Le Moyne
Andresious Cyprianos, Pace
Seamus Butler, Saint Michael's 

Women's Swimming and Diving (10)
Kelly Whelan, Adelphi
Bry Veroneau, Assumption
Kate Kaduboski, Bentley
Kaitlin McGahie, Bentley#
Anne Warren, Bentley#
Alyssa Baker, Le Moyne#
Madison Kiefer, Pace#
Lindsay McNall, Saint Michael's
Jennifer Belanger, Southern Connecticut
Emily Wolfe, Southern Connecticut

Bold Italics - Sport Excellence Award Winner
# - 2015-16 Academic All-Conference
* - 2014-15 Academic All-Conference
^ - 2013-14 Academic All-Conference