NE10 Announces Creation of Faculty Mentor Award, Member Institution Nominees

NE10 Announces Creation of Faculty Mentor Award, Member Institution Nominees



NE10 Announces Creation of Award to Recognize Faculty Support of Student-Athletes

MANSFIELD, Mass. - The Northeast-10 Conference has announced a new award recognizing faculty members that support the efforts of student-athletes in achieving their academic goals. The NE10 Faculty Mentor Award will be handed out for the first time at the conference's awards banquet, which will take place on Sunday, June 4 at Gillette Stadium in Foxboro, Mass.

In June of 2016, the NE10 SAAC created the NE10 SAAC Faculty Mentor Award. The award would be organized and voted on by a committee made up of current NE10 SAAC members. Each NE10 institution shall nominate one faculty member from their institution. This year's nominees are listed below.

The NE10 SAAC Faculty Mentor Award winner will have their nomination forwarded on to the NCAA as the NE10 nomination for the NCAA DII Dr. Dave Pariser Faculty Mentor Award. The Dr. Dave Pariser Faculty Mentor Award is an initiative launched in 2013 by the NCAA Division II national Student Athlete Advisory Committee (SAAC), the award is student-athlete driven and the first of its kind in the NCAA.

Finding the award to be both noteworthy and unique, Dr. Mark Emmert, NCAA President, presented the inaugural award to the family of Dr. Dave Pariser during the 2013 FARA Convention in Baltimore, Maryland. The Award honors an institutional faculty member who has demonstrated dedication, support, and guidance to student-athletes and the institution’s athletics program. Division II sets forth a strong commitment to prepare student-athletes to excel in their endeavors after their athletics careers have ended.

The nominee for this award should be an example of this philosophy. The nominee should demonstrate exemplary support to student-athletes both on and off the field/court of competition while representing the NCAA Division II core values of learning, passion, service, resourcefulness, sportsmanship and balance. This support can include, but is not limited to, athletics, academics, life skills, career development or other areas. 

2016-17 Faculty Mentor Award Nominees
Adelphi - John Petrizzo, Assistant Professor Exercise Science, Health Studies, Physical Education And Sport Management
American International – Bruce Johnson, Ed.D., Professor of English
Assumption – Elizabeth O’Hara, Visiting Instructor of Management and Marketing
Bentley – Michael Payne, Bentley Executive in Residence/Field Hockey Faculty Mentor
Franklin Pierce – Tom Bennett, MD, Visiting Assistant Professor, Health Science
Le Moyne – Fr. Frank Nash, S.J., Chaplain
Merrimack – Dr. Warren Kay, Co-chair and Professor in Department of Religious and Theological Studies
New Haven – Kimberly Mahoney, Ph.D., Assistant Professor of Sport Management
Pace – Daniel Buffone, Adjunct Mathematics Professor/Associate Director for the Learning Assistance Center
Saint Anselm – Benjamin Horton, Assistant Director, Academic Resource Center/Professor of First Year Conversation (Humanities)          
Saint Michael’s – Ray Patterson, Ph.D., Religious Studies Department Chair /Associate Professor of Religious Studies
Saint Rose – Gretchen Guenther-Collins, JD, Associate Professor of Accounting/Department Chair/Interim Dean/FAR
Southern New Hampshire - Dr. Kostas Karadakis, Assistant Professor of Sport Management
Stonehill – Greg Shaw, Ph.D., Professor of Religious Studies

The NE10 is an association of 15 diverse institutions serving student-athletes across 24 NCAA Division II sports. Together we build brilliant futures by embracing the journey of every student-athlete. 

Each year, 4,500 student-athletes compete in conference championships, making the NE10 the largest DII conference in the country in terms of sport sponsorship. Leading the way in the classroom, on the field and within the community, the NE10 is proud of its comprehensive program and the experience it provides student-athletes.