Embrace The Philosophy: NE10 Announces Scholar-Athlete Award Nominees

Embrace The Philosophy: NE10 Announces Scholar-Athlete Award Nominees



Two Nominees Represent Each Member Institution

MANSFIELD, Mass. – The Northeast-10 Conference unveiled its nominees for the Male and Female Outstanding Scholar-Athlete of the Year awards today. The Scholar Athlete of the Year is among the most prestigious awards the league hands out each year. For the complete list of nominees - one male and one female student-athlete from each member institution - please see below.

A committee made up of faculty members and athletic administrators conducts voting for the Outstanding Scholar-Athlete awards. The two student-athletes that are selected will be recognized at the NE10 year-end banquet Monday, June 4 in Garden City, N.Y. on the campus of Adelphi University.

To be eligible for nomination for these prestigious awards, a student-athlete must be in their final year of athletic eligibility during 2017-18, must be graduating with a degree this May (unless in a master’s program), must be enrolled in a full-time course load, and must have a minimum final cumulative grade point average of a 3.30.

2017-18 NE10 Male Scholar-Athlete Nominees
Michael Coffey, Adelphi
Kemani Hume, American International
Jedidiah Scott, Assumption
Cal Meyers, Bentley
John Amendola, Franklin Pierce
Russell Sangster, Le Moyne (pictured)
Mikhail Belov, Merrimack
Colin Keyes, New Haven
Rober Beshlian, Pace
Brendan Cain, Saint Anselm
Eric Salzillo, Saint Michael’s
Julian Lipinski, Saint Rose
Ryne Griesenauer, Southern Connecticut
Tyler McLaren, Southern New Hampshire
Thomas Bellio, Stonehill

2017-18 NE10 Female Scholar-Athlete Nominees
Rebecca Fakas, Adelphi
Dana Bramble, American International
Allison Sheahan, Assumption
Emily Niemiec, Bentley
Carly Canavan, Franklin Pierce
Alexis Eastman, Le Moyne
Alyssa Williamson, Merrimack
Riley Knebes, New Haven
Drew Ribadeneyra, Pace
Jessica Perkins, Saint Anselm (pictured)
Jenna Deschaine, Saint Michael’s
Jessica McMillen, Saint Rose
Christine Volz, Southern Connecticut
Rianna Fasanello, Southern New Hampshire
Victoria Barbetta, Stonehill

The NE10 is an association of 15 diverse institutions serving student-athletes across 24 NCAA Division II sports. Together we build brilliant futures by embracing the journey of every student-athlete. 

Each year, 4,500 student-athletes compete in conference championships, making the NE10 the largest DII conference in the country in terms of sport sponsorship. Leading the way in the classroom, on the field and within the community, the NE10 is proud of its comprehensive program and the experience it provides student-athletes.