Adelphi Claims Second-Straight NE10 Presidents' Cup Honoring Department-Wide Success

Adelphi Claims Second-Straight NE10 Presidents' Cup Honoring Department-Wide Success



FOXBORO, Mass. – For the second-consecutive year, Adelphi University has won the Northeast-10 Conference Presidents’ Cup, it was revealed at the league’s annual year-end banquet on Sunday evening.

It is the fourth NE10 Presidents’ Cup for the Panthers in the last five years. Adelphi won the award during the 2012-13 and 2013-14 seasons before finishing as the runner-up following the 2014-15 academic year.

To see the complete order of finish for the 2016-17 NE10 Presidents’ Cup standings, please see below. For year-by-year history of the award, please click here.

“Congratulations to all the student-athletes, coaches and administrators at Adelphi on winning their second straight Presidents’ Cup,” said NE10 Commissioner Julie Ruppert. “To earn this honor requires tremendous dedication and commitment from the entire campus community, and the entire Adelphi family should share in the celebration of this accomplishment.

Adelphi, which garnered 187.5 total points on the year, was helped by their five NE10 titles in the year. Conference championships in Men's Soccer, Softball, Women's Basketball, Women's Lacrosse, and Women's Tennis helped propel the Panthers to the top spot once again.

Stonehill finished as the runner-up with a total of 174 points on the year, moving up one spot following their third-place finish a year ago. Merrimack finished third with having garnered 171 points. It's the Warriors' highest finish in Presidents' Cup history since 2001 when they finished second overall.

The Presidents' Cup is presented annually to signify overall athletic excellence in the NE10. The honor is awarded to the institution that compiles the most cumulative points based on finishes in the regular season standings from all of its programs competing in league championships.

Points for men's and women's cross country, men's and women's swimming & diving, men's and women's indoor and outdoor track & field, and men's and women’s golf are awarded based on placement in those sports’ respective conference championships.

2016-17 NE10 Presidents’ Cup Standings
1. Adelphi – 187.5 Points
2. Stonehill - 174.0
3. Merrimack - 171.0
4. Assumption - 166.0
5. Le Moyne - 162.0
6. Bentley - 155.5
7. Southern New Hampshire - 143.5
8. Southern Connecticut – 142.5
9. American International – 135.0
10. Franklin Pierce - 129.0
11. Saint Anselm - 107.0
12. New Haven - 100.0
13. Saint Rose – 93.0
14. Pace – 88.0
15. Saint Michael’s – 62.0 

2017 Presidents' Cup Acceptance Speech
Jun 7, 2017

The NE10 is an association of 15 diverse institutions serving student-athletes across 24 NCAA Division II sports. Together we build brilliant futures by embracing the journey of every student-athlete. 

Each year, 4,500 student-athletes compete in conference championships, making the NE10 the largest DII conference in the country in terms of sport sponsorship. Leading the way in the classroom, on the field and within the community, the NE10 is proud of its comprehensive program and the experience it provides student-athletes.