Northeast-10 Announces Third Annual Fall Sportsmanship Award Recipients

Northeast-10 Announces Third Annual Fall Sportsmanship Award Recipients


[Click Here For Complete Release]

South Easton, Mass. – The Northeast-10 Conference has announced the recipients of its third annual Fall 2008 Sportsmanship Awards. The awards program, which honors one team from each of the conference’s 23 championship sports that has exemplified the spirit of sportsmanship and generally conducted themselves with a higher degree of integrity, character and class.

The Northeast-10 awards one team from its 23 championship sports with a ‘Team Sportsmanship Award’ at the end of each season’s championship segment. The awards are decided upon by a vote of each of the conference teams head coach, team captain and Student Athlete Advisory Committee (SAAC) representative in their respective sports.

Le Moyne College received this year’s Sportsmanship Award in women’s soccer marking the third straight year that they have been honored. The Dolphins are the only fall team to receive the sportsmanship award in each year the award has been given.

The rest of the field is made up of all first-time recipients of the Sportsmanship Award. The University of New Haven, in its first season as a member of the Northeast-10, earned honors in the sport of men’s soccer. Assumption College received the Sportsmanship Award in the sport of football, while Southern Connecticut State University was selected in the sport of field hockey.

Saint Anselm College and the College of Saint Rose received the Sportsmanship Award in Men’s Cross Country and Women’s Cross Country respectively, while American International College received sportsmanship honors in the sport of men’s golf. The Merrimack College women’s volleyball team also received sportsmanship accolades.

In June, one of the 15 conference institutions will receive the ‘David R. Brunk Institution of the Year Sportsmanship Award’ as voted on by the conference Senior Women Administrator (SWA) council. Last year, Stonehill was selected as the award recipient.

With 15 member institutions the Northeast-10 is the second largest NCAA Division II athletic conference in the nation. Its 23 championship sports provide athletic opportunities for over 5,500 student-athletes, the largest such program of any Division II conference.

- NE-10 -

2008 Fall Sportsmanship Award Recipients

Men’s Cross Country – Saint Anselm

Women’s Cross Country – Saint Rose

Field Hockey – Southern Connecticut

Football – Assumption

Men’s Golf – American International

Men’s Soccer – New Haven

Women’s Soccer – Le Moyne

Volleyball – Merrimack