UMass Lowell Leads President's Cup Standings Entering Winter Season

UMass Lowell Leads President's Cup Standings Entering Winter Season


[Click Here For Complete Release]

South Easton, Mass. – The University of Massachusetts Lowell holds the top spot in the current 2008-2009 President’s Cup standings following the completion of the fall season.

UMass Lowell has compiled 80.5 points through seven programs competing this past fall’s season and is currently ahead of second-place Southern Connecticut State University. The Owls have accumulated 65 points thus far and hold a slight edge over third-place Merrimack College (63.5) and Bentley University (60). Le Moyne College and Stonehill College round out the top-five teams as both institutions are currently tied with 51 points.

The Riverhawks won this year’s men’s and women’s cross country championships along with winning the field hockey regular season title and a share of the men’s soccer regular season title to earn top points in those sports. Southern New Hampshire earned top-points with UMass Lowell for men’s soccer, while Franklin Pierce University and the College of Saint Rose earned a share of the women’s soccer regular season title. Other schools compiling top points in their respective sports include American International College (football), Le Moyne (golf) and New Haven (volleyball).

The remaining point totals are as followed; Saint Rose is seventh with 50 points, followed by American International (44.5), Franklin Pierce (44), Southern New Hampshire (43.5), the University of New Haven (41), Saint Anselm College (41), Assumption College (39.5), Saint Michael’s College (36.5) and Pace University (14).

The Presidents’ Cup is presented annually to signify overall athletic excellence in the Northeast-10 Conference and is awarded to the institution that compiles the most points based on the placement at the conclusion of the regular season of each of its programs which compete in league championships. Points for men’s and women’s cross country, men’s and women’s swimming & diving, men’s and women’s indoor and outdoor track & field and men’s golf are awarded based on placement in respective conference championships.

Bryant University, now a member of Division I Northeast Conference, won the past two President’s Cup including four of the last five after finishing with 203 points last year followed by Bentley (170.5) and Stonehill (160.5).

With 15 member institutions the Northeast-10 is the second largest NCAA Division II athletic conference in the nation. Its 23 championship sports provide athletic opportunities for over 5,500 student-athletes, the largest such program of any Division II conference.

- NE-10 -

2008-2009 Northeast-10 President's Cup Standings
(Through Fall Season)

1. UMass Lowell - 80.5
2. Southern Connecticut - 65
3. Merrimack - 63.5
4. Bentley - 60
t-5. Le Moyne - 51
t-5. Stonehill 51
7. Saint Rose - 50
8. American International - 44.5
9. Franklin Pierce - 44
10. Southern New Hampshire - 43.5
t-11. New Haven - 41
t-11. Saint Anselm - 41
13. Assumption - 39.5
14. Saint Michael's - 36.5
15. Pace - 14