Northeast-10 Names 2008 Fall All-Academic Team Selections

Northeast-10 Names 2008 Fall All-Academic Team Selections


[Click Here For Complete Release]

South Easton, Mass. – The Northeast-10 Conference has announced its All-Academic teams for the 2008 Fall athletic season in the sports of Men’s Cross County, Women’s Cross Country, Field Hockey, Football, Men’s Soccer, Women’s Soccer and Volleyball. A total of 75 student-athletes representing all 15 Northeast-10 institutions have been named to the seven teams.

Bentley University and Stonehill College featured the most student-athletes selected to All-Northeast-10 Academic teams with ten, followed by the University of Massachusetts Lowell with nine and Saint Michael’s College with eight. Fifteen student-athletes been named to their respective all-academic teams earned those honors for the third straight year and 36 student-athletes earned All-Northeast-10 Academic honors for the first time.

Highlighted among the 75 all-academic selections are three student-athletes that excelled at a high level not only in the classroom but on the field of play as well earning Northeast-10 Player of Year accolades, including Franklin Pierce University sophomore women’s soccer player Angelika Johansson (Falkenberg, Sweden), UMass Lowell senior runner Ruben Sanca (Boston, Mass.) and the University of New Haven post-grad volleyball player Rhe-Ann Niles (St. Thomas, Barbados).

To be eligible for selection to the academic teams, a student-athlete must have met and/or exceeded the following minimum requirements: 1) participated in at least half of the team’s competitions and be either a starter or significant contributor; 2) achieved a 3.30 cumulative grade point average (on a 4.0 scale); and 3) completed at least one academic year at his/her current institution. The Northeast-10 All-Academic Teams are chosen by a vote of the Northeast-10 Sports Information Directors.

With 15 member institutions the Northeast-10 is the second largest NCAA Division II athletic conference in the nation. Its 23 championship sports provide athletic opportunities for over 5,500 student-athletes, the largest such program of any Division II conference.

- NE-10 -

2008 Fall All-Academic Teams


Men's Cross Country
Jake McAndrew - Le Moyne
Jason DeDonato - UMass Lowell
Ruben Sanca - UMass Lowell
Adam Holmes - Merrimack
Matt Alexander - Saint Michael's
Paul Jarvis - Saint Michael's
Matt Meagher - Stonehill

Women's Cross Country
Kelsey Ryan - Le Moyne
Sarah Brassard - UMass Lowell
Elizabeth Carr - UMass Lowell
Mary Lynn Denholm - Saint Michael's
Sve Dellea-Messner - Southern New Hampshire
Jenny Gardynski - Stonehill
Amanda Tripodi - Stonehill

Field Hockey
Jacki LaPointe - American International
Sandy Garney - Assumption
Sarah Ranieri - Assumption
Abby DeMusis - Bentley
Danielle Marquis - Bentley
Megan Ramah - Bentley
Alyssa Sliney - Bentley
Missy Seeley - UMass Lowell
Sara Fournier - Saint Michael's
Jordan Smalling - Saint Michael's
Lauren Karn - Southern Connecticut
Kerri Sullivan - Stonehill

Marek Przybylek - American International
Mike Foley - Assumption
Jared Kawadler - Bentley
John Malone - Bentley
Cetan Tyler - Bentley
Jake Manning - Merrimack
J.D. Wild - Merrimack
Jonathan Jones - Pace
Luke St. Marie - Saint Anselm
Craig Toulouse - Southern Connecticut
Kevin Bonnett - Stonehill
Jon Kaloyanides - Stonehill
Cruz Parsons - Stonehill
Cory Wright - Stonehill

Men's Soccer
Chris Lipsett - Bentley
Mike Pini - Bentley
Johan Torstensson - Franklin Pierce
Rudy Kocandrle - UMass Lowell
Ryan Richards - UMass Lowell
Jamie Wangia - UMass Lowell
Jason Zurita - New Haven
Ryan Beck - Saint Michael's
Jared Berry - Saint Michael's
Tim Warren - Saint Michael's
Djordje Jankovic - Southern Connecticut
Matt Delaney - Southern New Hampshire
Tyler Herbert - Stonehill
Thomas Hernon - Stonehill

Women's Soccer
Kara Potts - American International
Brittany Ester - Franklin Pierce
Angelika Johansson - Franklin Pierce
Rachel Smith - Franklin Pierce
Christina Harrison - Le Moyne
Megan O'Shea - Le Moyne
Meg Turley - Le Moyne
Jamie Gillis - UMass Lowell
Jennifer Conway - Merrimack
Caitlin Hall - Merrimack
Kailey Egbert - Saint Rose
Kelly Guerin - Saint Rose
Cary Rivett - Southern New Hampshire

Cassie Kraft - Bentley
Nicole Buchholz - Franklin Pierce
Kristin Applegate - Merrimack
Ale Kuncaitis - Merrimack
Rhe-Ann Niles - New Haven
Yael Rosner - New Haven
Nicky Dumond - Southern New Hampshire