Ten Northeast-10 Men’s and Women’s Basketball Teams Selected to Upcoming NCAA Division II Tournament

Ten Northeast-10 Men’s and Women’s Basketball Teams Selected to Upcoming NCAA Division II Tournament


[Click Here For Complete Release]

Men's Tournament Bracket

Women's Tournament Bracket

South Easton, Mass. – The NCAA released the field for the men’s and women’s Division II basketball championships Sunday night as seen on NCAA.com. Ten Northeast-10 schools, five men’s and five women’s teams, were among those selected.

Among the five men’s teams selected were Bentley University (2nd), the University of Massachusetts Lowell (3rd), Assumption College (4th), Stonehill College (5th) and Merrimack College (6th). The women’s teams selected included Franklin Pierce University (1st), Stonehill (3rd), Bentley (4th), American International College (5th) and the College of Saint Rose (6th).

The men’s East Regional will take place in Brookville, N.Y. as C.W. Post of the East Coast Conference (ECC) received the top seed in the region. The East Regional is scheduled to start on Saturday, March 14 with quarterfinal action. The Pioneers finished the regular season undefeated and were ranked number throughout the year in the regional poll. C.W. Post will face #8 Philadelphia University, the automatic bid from the Central Atlantic Collegiate Conference (CACC) in the quarterfinal round. Bentley, the second seed in the regional, will face the ECC automatic bid Bridgeport in the quarterfinals, while #3 UMass Lowell will face NE-10 rival #6 Merrimack. The other quarterfinal contest features another NE-10 matchup with #4 Assumption and #5 Stonehill. The Greyhounds received the automatic bid after winning the Northeast-10 Championship on Saturday.

The semifinals are set for Sunday, March 15 and the championship final will be on Tuesday, March 17 with the winning advancing to the Elite Eight in Springfield, Mass. (March 25-28).

Franklin Pierce, the NE-10 automatic qualifier, received the top seed in the women’s East Regional and will face #8 Philadelphia in the quarterfinals which begin on Friday, March 13. Philadelphia received an automatic bid after winning the CACC Championship. Holy Family University, the host of the East Region, received the second seed in the tournament and will face the ECC automatic qualifier Queens College. The other two quarterfinal matchups include Northeast-10 teams as #3 Stonehill will face #6 Saint Rose and #4 Bentley will take on #5 American International.

The semifinals for the women’s regional are set for Saturday, March 14 with the championship final slated for Monday, March 16. The winner of the East Region will advance to the Elite Eight in San Antonio, Texas (March 25-28).

With 15 member institutions the Northeast-10 is the second largest NCAA Division II athletic conference in the nation. Its 23 championship sports provide athletic opportunities for over 5,500 student-athletes, the largest such program of any Division II conference.

- NE-10 -

Men’s East Region Tournament – at C.W. Post
Quarterfinals – March 14

#1 C.W. Post vs. #8 Philadelphia - 6 p.m.
#2 Bentley vs. #7 Bridgeport - 2:30 p.m.
#3 UMass Lowell vs. #6 Merrimack - 12 p.m.
#4 Assumption vs. #5 Stonehill - 8:30 p.m.

Semifinals – March 15
C.W. Post/Philadelphia Winner vs. Assumption/Stonehill Winner - 7:30 p.m.
Bentley/Bridgeport Winner vs. UMass Lowell/Merrimack Winner - 5 p.m.

Finals – March 17
Semifinal Winner 1 vs. Semifinal Winner 2 - 7 p.m.

Women’s East Region Tournament – At Holy Family University
Quarterfinals – March 13

#1 Franklin Pierce vs. #8 Philadelphia - 1 p.m.
#2 Holy Family vs. #7 Queens - 8 p.m.
#3 Stonehill vs. #6 Saint Rose - 6 p.m.
#4 Bentley vs. #5 American International -3 p.m.

Semifinals – March 14
Franklin Pierce/Philadelphia Winner vs. Bentley/American International Winner - 6 p.m.
Holy Family/Queens Winner vs. Stonehill/Saint Rose Winner - 8 p.m.

Finals – March 16
Semifinal Winner 1 vs. Semifinal Winner 2 - 7 p.m.