UMass Lowell Maintains Lead In President's Cup Standings Entering Spring Season

UMass Lowell Maintains Lead In President's Cup Standings Entering Spring Season


[Click Here For Full Release]

South Easton, Mass. – The University of Massachusetts Lowell continues to hold the top spot in the current 2008-2009 President’s Cup standings following the completion of the winter season.

UMass Lowell has compiled a combined 110.5 points through its fall and winter programs and is currently ahead of second-place Bentley University. The Falcons have accumulated 103.5 points thus far and hold a comfortable lead over third-place Southern Connecticut State University (96). Stonehill College is currently in fourth place with 91.5 points, while the College of Saint Rose rounds out the top five with 81 points.

The Riverhawks won this year’s women’s indoor track & field championship and finished in a three-way tie for second place in men’s basketball. Bentley and Franklin Pierce University claimed the men’s and women’s basketball regular season titles respectively to earn top points in those sports. Saint Anselm College received top points for winning the regular season title in ice hockey, while Southern Connecticut claimed top honors after winning both the men’s and women’s swimming & diving championship and the men’s indoor track & field championship.

The remaining point totals are as followed; Merrimack College is sixth with 80.5 points, followed by Le Moyne College (78.5), American International College (71.5), Assumption College (67.5), Franklin Pierce (67), Southern New Hampshire University (65), University of New Haven (56), Saint Anselm (55), Saint Michael’s College (54) and Pace University (29.5).

The Presidents’ Cup is presented annually to signify overall athletic excellence in the Northeast-10 Conference and is awarded to the institution that compiles the most points based on placement at the conclusion of the regular season of each of its programs which compete in league championships. Points for men’s and women’s cross country, men’s and women’s swimming & diving, men’s and women’s indoor and outdoor track & field and men’s golf are awarded based on placement in respective conference championships.

Bryant University, now a member of Division I Northeast Conference, won the past two President’s Cup including four of the last five after finishing with 203 points last year followed by Bentley (170.5) and Stonehill (160.5).

With 15 member institutions the Northeast-10 is the second largest NCAA Division II athletic conference in the nation. Its 23 championship sports provide athletic opportunities for over 5,500 student-athletes, the largest such program of any Division II conference.

- NE-10 -

2008-2009 Northeast-10 President's Cup Standings
(Through Winter Season)

1. UMass Lowell – 110.5
2. Bentley – 103.5
3. Southern Connecticut – 96
4. Stonehill – 91.5
5. Saint Rose – 81
6. Merrimack – 80.5
7. Le Moyne – 78.5
8. American International – 71.5
9. Assumption – 67.5
10. Franklin Pierce – 67
11. Southern New Hampshire – 65
12. New Haven – 56
13. Saint Anselm – 55
14. Saint Michael’s – 54
15. Pace – 29.5