Six More Northeast-10 Teams Begin Quest For National Championships

Six More Northeast-10 Teams Begin Quest For National Championships


South Easton, Mass. - The Northeast-10 will be represented by six teams in the upcoming NCAA Division II men's and women's lacrosse and softball Championships. The Northeast-10 already had eight men's and women's tennis team advance to NCAA post-season play along with four golf teams and two individuals.

In men's lacrosse, the Northeast-10 received two of the four possible bids as Le Moyne College will host Merrimack College on Saturday, May 16.  This will mark the third time this season that both teams will meet as Le Moyne holds a 2-0 advantage over Merrimack after defeating the Warriors 10-2 in the Northeast-10 Championship game.  Merrimack is making its first ever NCAA appearance and is currently 14-2 on the year.  Le Moyne is appearaning in its eighth straight NCAA tournament and are currently undefeated with a 15-0 record.  The Dolphins appeared in last yea's NCAA Division II National Championship game.

The winner will advance to the NCAA Division II National Championship game on Sunday, May 24 at Gillette Stadium in Foxboro, Mass. and face the winner of the Limestone/C.W. Post semifinal contest.

In women's lacrosse, the Northeast-10 Co-Regular Season and Tournament Champions, the University of New Haven will be making its first ever appearnace.  Fresh off their 12-7 Northeast-10 Championship win over Southern New Hampshire, the Chargers will face C.W. Post in the NCAA Division II quarterfinals 1 p.m. on Saturday, May 9.  The winner will advance and face Adelphi University in the NCAA Division II semifinals on Saturday, May 16 in Salem, Va.

The Northeast-10 received three NCAA Tournament bids in softball led by site host Le Moyne, New Haven and Southern Connecticut State University.  The Dolphins will serve as one of the two hosts in the East Region.  Le Moyne, fresh off its second-straight Northeast-10 championship, will host Dominican, Caldwell and Dowling, while New Haven and Southern Connecticut will travel to Brookville, N.Y.. site of the other East Regional.  New Haven will face host C.W. Post, while Southern Connecticut will face Georgian Court.

The softball tournament will take place over a three day span and conclude on Sunday, May 10 with the regional championship.  Each regional winner will advance to the super regional and take on the other regional winner in a best-of-three series beginning Friday, May 15.

In tennis, the NCAA announced the preliminary-round tournaments that will be conducted between May 7 and May 9, with the winner of each preliminary-round tournament advancing to the finals in Altamonte Springs, Fla., May 13-16.

On the men’s side, the Northeast-10 will feature three teams in the NCAA Regional. Stonehill College, the Northeast-10 Regular Season and Tournament Champion, are the highest seeded team at number three. Merrimack College is ranked fifth, while Bentley University is ranked seventh.

Stonehill will face sixth-seeded Philadelphia University in the First Round, while Merrimack will face fourth-seeded Adelphi University. Bentley will take on second-seeded Queens College and face the winner of the Stonehill/Philadelphia match. The winner of the Merrimack/Adelphi match will take on the winner of top-seed Concordia and eighth seed Philadelphia Sciences.

The women’s regional will include five Northeast-10 teams and could hold the potential of Northeast-10 Championship rematches. First Round matches include fifth-seeded Southern New Hampshire University facing fourth-seed and host Bentley University. Both teams faced each other in the Northeast-10 semifinals with the Falcons coming up on the winning end of a 5-3 match. The winner will face the winner of the other first-round match at Bentley between top-seeded Concordia (N.Y.) College and eighth-seeded Philadelphia University.

The other part of the East Region, which will be hosted by Stonehill College, involves second-seed Stonehill facing conference rival Merrimack. The Warriors are ranked seventh in the region. The other first-round match features third-seed Queens College versus sixth seeded Saint Michael’s College.

In golf, the regional competitions began yesterday as four schools and two individuals from the NE-10 began play.

The Northeast-10 will be represented by American International College, Le Moyne College, the University of Massachusetts Lowell and Southern New Hampshire University. In addition, Kent St. Charles (Wells, Maine) from Pace University and Matt Horton (Troy, N.Y.) from the College of Saint Rose also received post-season bids as individual participants.

Le Moyne received the automatic qualifying bid after winning the Northeast-10 Championship this past fall. It marked the Dolphins first-ever Northeast-10 championship in program history as freshman Kevin Jackson (Chittenango, N.Y.) earned medalist honors after shooting a tournament low 144 (69-75).

American International is making its first-ever appearance in the NCAA’s after finishing the year ranked fifth in the East Region. The Yellow Jackets are the highest ranking Northeast-10 school. Southern New Hampshire is sixth in the region as the Penmen will be making their third appearance and the first since 2006. Le Moyne is advancing to the regional as the seventh ranked team, while UMass Lowell follows as the eighth ranked team. The River Hawks are making their second-straight appearance after finishing sixth in the regional last year.

The top five teams and the top two individuals not with a team from each regional (regardless of region) will advance to the finals May 19-22 at Loomis Trail Golf Club in Blaine, Washington. The finals will be hosted by Western Washington University.

With 15 member institutions the Northeast-10 is the second largest NCAA Division II athletic conference in the nation. Its 23 championship sports provide athletic opportunities for over 5,500 student-athletes, the largest such program of any Division II conference.  

NCAA Men's Lacrosse Championship Field

NCAA Women's Lacrosse Championship Field

NCAA Softball Lacrosse Championship Field