Nominees Announced For Northeast-10 Woman of the Year

Nominees Announced For Northeast-10 Woman of the Year


[Click Here For Full Release]

South Easton, Mass. – The Northeast-10 Conference has announced the ten institutional nominees for the 2009 Northeast-10 Woman of the Year Award selected by the Senior Women Administrator Council (SWA). The winner will automatically be put forward as the conference’s nominee for the NCAA Woman of the Year.

The nominees include American International College’s Stacy Boisvert (Basketball), Assumption College’s Heather Gostyla(Cross Country/Track & Field), Le Moyne College’s Kelsey Ryan (Cross Country), University of Massachusetts Lowell’s Sarah Brassard (Cross Country/Track & Field), Merrimack College’s Caitlin Hall (Soccer), University of New Haven’s Brigid Brady (Lacrosse), Pace University’s Natalija Subotic (Tennis), Saint Michael’s College’s Andrea Slaven (Field Hockey), the College of Saint Rose’s Kailey Egbert (Soccer) and Stonehill College’s Michelle Kelly (Lacrosse).

The NCAA Woman of the Year award honors senior student-athletes for their collective collegiate achievements in service, leadership, athletics and academics. The NCAA Committee on Women’s Athletics (CWA) receive nominations from each conference in Division I, II and III.

All conference nominees from the three divisions are forwarded to the Woman of the Year selection committee in which then the committee will select the top 10 winners from each division. From among those 30 honorees, the selection committee will determine the top three in each division. Finally, the members of the CWA will vote from the top nine to determine the 2009 NCAA Woman of the Year which will be announced in Indianapolis October 18.

With 15 member institutions the Northeast-10 is the second largest NCAA Division II athletic conference in the nation. Its 23 championship sports provide athletic opportunities for over 5,500 student-athletes, the largest such program of any Division II conference.

- NE-10 -

2009 Institutional Woman of the Year Nominees
Stacy Boisvert, American Int'l
Heather Gostyla, Assumption
Kelsey Ryan, Le Moyne
Sarah Brassard, UMass Lowell
Caitlin Hall, Merrimack
Brigid Brady, New Haven
Natalija Subotic, Pace
Andrea Slaven, Saint Michael's
Kailey Egbert, Saint Rose
Michelle Kelly, Stonehill