Bentley Wins 2008-2009 Northeast-10 Presidents’ Cup

Bentley Wins 2008-2009 Northeast-10 Presidents’ Cup


[Click Here For Full Release]

Mystic, Conn. – Bentley University has claimed the 2008-2009 Northeast-10 Presidents’ Cup as announced by the Northeast-10 Conference Monday evening at the conference’s end of the year awards banquet in Mystic, Conn.

Bentley registered 165 points to win the Presidents’ Cup for the first time since the 2002-2003 academic year. This marks the eighth time overall that the Falcons coveted the award including a four-year run from 1995-1996 through 1998-1999.

Bentley had consistent success throughout the 2008-2009 academic year, finishing in the top five in 14 sports (Baseball, Men’s Basketball, Women’s Basketball, Women’s Cross Country, Field Hockey, Football, Women’s Indoor Track & Field, Men’s Lacrosse, Women’s Lacrosse, Men’s Swimming & Diving, Women’s Swimming & Diving, Men’s Tennis, Women’s Tennis and Volleyball).

Bentley claimed the Northeast-10 Regular Season Title in men’s basketball for a record fifth-straight season. The Falcons went on to win the Northeast-10 Championship in field hockey for the first time since 2002.

Stonehill College finished second overall in the Presidents’ Cup standings after collecting 152.5 points. The Skyhawks finished first in men’s tennis, women’s tennis and tied for first place in women’s lacrosse. Southern Connecticut State University earned 139 points to finish third in the Presidents’ Cup standings just ahead of the University of Massachusetts Lowell with 138.5 points. Merrimack College rounds out the top five with 131 points.

The rest of the field includes in order, Le Moyne College (116.5), Southern New Hampshire University (112.5), the College of Saint Rose (107.5), Assumption College (106), University of New Haven (100.5), American International College (95), Franklin Pierce University (93), Saint Anselm College (86), Saint Michael’s College (85) and Pace University (58).

The Presidents’ Cup is presented annually to signify overall athletic excellence in the Northeast-10 Conference and is awarded to the institution that compiles the most points based on the placement at the conclusion of the regular season of each of its programs which compete in league championships. Points for men’s and women’s cross country, men’s and women’s swimming & diving, men’s and women’s indoor and outdoor track & field and men’s golf are awarded based on placement in respective conference championships.

With 15 member institutions the Northeast-10 is the second largest NCAA Division II athletic conference in the nation. Its 23 championship sports provide athletic opportunities for over 5,500 student-athletes, the largest such program of any Division II conference.

- NE-10 -


2008-2009 Presidents' Cup Standings

1. Bentley - 165
2. Stonehill - 152.5
3. Southern Connecticut - 139
4. UMass Lowell - 138.5
5. Merrimack - 131
6. Le Moyne - 116.5
7. Southern New Hampshire - 112. 5
8. Saint Rose - 107.5
9. Assumption - 106
10. New Haven - 100.5
11. American International - 95
12. Franklin Pierce - 93
13. Saint Anselm - 86
14. Saint Michael's - 85
15. Pace - 58