Northeast-10 Names 2009 Spring All-Academic Team Selections

Northeast-10 Names 2009 Spring All-Academic Team Selections


[Click Here For Full Release]

South Easton, Mass. – The Northeast-10 Conference has announced its All-Academic teams for the 2009 Spring athletic season in the sports of Baseball, Men’s Golf, Men’s Lacrosse, Women’s Lacrosse, Softball, Men’s Tennis, Women’s Tennis, Men’s Track & Field and Women’s Track & Field. A total of 83 student-athletes have been named to the nine teams.

Bentley University featured the most student-athletes selected to the Northeast-10 All-Academic teams with 15, followed by the University of Massachusetts Lowell with eight student-athletes honored. The University of New Haven and Stonehill College each had seven student-athletes represented.

Fourteen student-athletes have been named to their respective all-academic teams for the third straight year and 45 student-athletes earned All-Northeast-10 Academic honors for the first time.

Highlighted among the 83 all-academic selections are 55 student-athletes that excelled at a high level not only in the classroom but on the field of play as well, earning Northeast-10 All-Conference accolades this year. Also featured among those 55 are Le Moyne College senior Jennifer Farrelly (Latham, N.Y.) and Southern Connecticut State University senior Letecia Taylor (Plainfield, N.J.) who both earned Northeast-10 Player of the Year honors in their respective sports of softball and track & field. Stonehill’s Jaclyn Craig (Rocky Point, N.Y.) received NE-10 Defensive Player of the Year honors in women’s lacrosse.

To be eligible for selection to the academic teams, a student-athlete must have met and/or exceeded the following minimum standards: 1) participated in at least half of the team’s competitions and be either a starter or significant contributor; 2) achieved a 3.30 cumulative grade point average (on a 4.0 scale); and 3) completed at least one academic year at his/her current institution. The Northeast-10 All-Academic Teams are chosen by a vote of the Northeast-10 Sports Information Directors.

With 15 member institutions the Northeast-10 is the second largest NCAA Division II athletic conference in the nation. Its 23 championship sports provide athletic opportunities for over 5,500 student-athletes, the largest such program of any Division II conference.

- NE-10 -

2009 Northeast-10 Spring All-Academic Teams

Michael Colebrook, Assumption
Tim Dupuis, Assumption
Chris Dupay, Bentley
Garrett Stenhouse, Bentley
Derek Ingui, Franklin Pierce
Dylan Ellis, Merrimack
Jimmy Rivas, New Haven
Tom Rombilus, New Haven
Ryan Price, Saint Rose

Men's Golf
James Farrea, Assumption
Rob Younker, Assumption
Brian Jasset, Bentley
Kent St. Charles, Pace
Will Crall, Saint Michael's
D.J. Lantz, Southern New Hampshire
Andrew Maziarz, Southern New Hampshire

Men's Lacrosse
Kyle Chaffee, Assumption
Mike Sjogren, Assumption
Matt Allen, Bentley
Kris Dambach, Bentley
Doug Logan, Bentley
Stephen Moulton, Bentley
Steven Murray, Bentley
Jon Priest, Franklin Pierce
Tyler Sennett, Le Moyne
Jack Venditti, Le Moyne
Kevin DeBenedetto, Saint Anselm

Women's Lacrosse
Jaclyn Griffin, Bentley
Kelly Pasquantonio, Merrimack
Brigid Brady, New Haven
Ashley Ferrandiz, New Haven
Brianna Kenworthy, New Haven
Kristine Lambracht, New Haven
Michaela Rocha, Saint Anselm
Sara Biondello, Saint Michael's
Julie Kraus, Southern New Hampshire
Libby Parent, Southern New Hampshire
Jaclyn Craig, Stonehill
Michelle Kelly, Stonehill

Alex Hitchcock, Bentley
Jennifer Farrelly, Le Moyne
Bailey Phillips, Le Moyne
Kelly Schweikert, Le Moyne
Stacey Lajoie, UMass Lowell
Kelsey Ellis, Merrimack
Kiryl Shada, Pace
Liz Trafton, Saint Anselm
Katelyn Billings, Saint Michael's
Khristle Lee, Southern Connecticut
Christina Wolf, Southern Connecticut
Karissa Bettencourt, Southern New Hampshire

Men's Tennis
Ben Jordan, Le Moyne
Steve Viglione, Merrimack
Adam Wilding, Merrimack
Jason Allegretti, Stonehill
Jon Burke, Stonehill
Michael Mashkevich, Stonehill

Women's Tennis
Andrea Hollot, Bentley
Elise Dufour, Merrimack
Natalija Subotic, Pace
Laura Nason, Saint Anselm
MaryBeth Ash, Saint Michael's
Catalina Echeverry, Southern New Hampshire

Men's Track & Field
Sean Reagan, Bentley
Tim Walant, Bentley
Mark Zurlo, Bentley
Jason DeDonato, UMass Lowell
Angus MacDonald, UMass Lowell
Pat Cullen, Saint Rose
Kevin Jackson, Saint Rose
Brad Lewis, Saint Rose
Sutton Underwood, Southern Connecticut
Matt Meagher, Stonehill

Women's Track & Field
Rebecca Ciccarelli, Bentley
Jacqui Barrett, UMass Lowell
Sarah Brassard, UMass Lowell
Haley Catarius, UMass Lowell
Sharikka Finley-Moise, UMass Lowell
Lauren Raimondi, UMass Lowell
Shannon Gagne, New Haven
Shaina Barr, Southern Connecticut
Letecia Taylor, Southern Connecticut
Jenn Gardynski, Stonehill