Northeast-10 Names 2008-2009 Winter All-Academic Team Selections

Northeast-10 Names 2008-2009 Winter All-Academic Team Selections


[Click Here For Full Release]

South Easton, Mass. – The Northeast-10 Conference has announced its All-Academic teams for the 2008-2009 Winter athletic season in the sports of Men’s Basketball, Women’s Basketball, Men’s Ice Hockey, Men’s Swimming & Diving and Women’s Swimming & Diving. A total of 36 student-athletes have been named to the five teams.

Bentley University featured the most student-athletes selected to the Northeast-10 All-Academic teams with nine, followed by Franklin Pierce University with five student-athletes honored. Six student-athletes have been named to their respective all-academic teams for the third straight year and 22 student-athletes earned All-Northeast-10 Academic honors for the first time.

Highlighted among the 36 all-academic selections are 12 student-athletes that excelled at a high level not only in the classroom but on the field of play as well earning Northeast-10 All-Conference accolades this year. Also featured among those 12 is Franklin Pierce junior Johannah Leedham (Ellesmere Port, England) who was named the Northeast-10 women’s basketball Player of the Year and Saint Michael’s College senior Tyler Bilton (Penticton, BC) who was named the Northeast-10 men’s ice hockey Goaltender of the Year.

To be eligible for selection to the academic teams, a student-athlete must have met and/or exceeded the following minimum stamdards: 1) participated in at least half of the team’s competitions and be either a starter or significant contributor; 2) achieved a 3.30 cumulative grade point average (on a 4.0 scale); and 3) completed at least one academic year at his/her current institution. The Northeast-10 All-Academic Teams are chosen by a vote of the Northeast-10 Sports Information Directors.

With 15 member institutions the Northeast-10 is the second largest NCAA Division II athletic conference in the nation. Its 23 championship sports provide athletic opportunities for over 5,500 student-athletes, the largest such program of any Division II conference.

- NE-10 -


2008-2009 Northeast-10 Winter All-Academic Teams

Men's Basketball
Mike Baldarelli, Assumption
Mike Quinn, Bentley
Kinard Dozier, Franklin Pierce
Thomas Baudinet, Saint Anselm
Troy Bowen, Southern New Hampshire
A.J. Rudowitz, Stonehill

Women's Basketball
Leslie Lupien, Assumption
Kim Brennan, Bentley
Cynthia Gaudet, Franklin Pierce
Johannah Leedham, Franklin Pierce
Vanessa Holden, Le Moyne
Casey Miller, Merrimack
Logan Lentz, Southern Connecticut

Ice Hockey
Phil LaBreck, Franklin Pierce
Sean Woodring, Franklin Pierce
Tyler Bilton, Saint Michael's
Chris Healey, Saint Michael's
Dave Vorozilchak, Saint Michael's
John Frey, Southern New Hampshire
Mike Manna, Stonehill

Men's Swimming & Diving
Matt Cesaro, Bentley
James Cote, Bentley
Nick Markert, Bentley
Alex Baker, Le Moyne
Zach Hisert, Le Moyne

Women's Swimming & Diving
Gina Casadonte, Assumption
Marissa Cerami, Bentley
Kaitlin Chepeleff, Bentley
Kristen Thuerk, Bentley
Emily Travers, Bentley
Meghan Nugent, Le Moyne
Callie Grace, Pace
Stephanie Hammer, Saint Michael's
Alicia Robinson, Saint Rose
Rachel Heyer, Southern Connecticut
Maria Zenoni, Southern Connecticut