Assumption College: Northeast-10 Sportsmanship Presentation

Assumption College: Northeast-10 Sportsmanship Presentation

Information Provided By Assumption Sports Information

WORCESTER, Mass. --- Assumption College has been named the winner of the 2008-09 David R. Brunk Award. The Northeast-10 Conference annual Sportsmanship Awards program honors one team from each of its 23 championship sports that has exemplified the spirit of sportsmanship and generally conducted itself with a higher degree of integrity, character and class.

The awards are decided upon by a vote of each of the conference teams head coaches, team captains and Student Athlete Advisory Committee (SAAC) representatives in their respective sports.

The Assumption College men's golf team was the an individual sport recipient for the first time in its history.

At the end of the academic year the conference honors one member with the David R. Brunk Award honoring institutional sportsmanship. Previous winners include Saint Anselm College in 2007 and Stonehill College in 2008 . . . the 2009 honoree is Assumption College. The award is named for the former commissioner of the conference.

Conference commissioner Julie Ruppert presented the check to the Greyhounds Student-Athlete Advisory Committee Sunday at halftime of the Greyhounds first-round women's basketball playoff game with Southern New Hampshire. Associate Director of Athletics/Senior Woman Administrator BETHANY ELLIS, along with Student-Athlete Advisory Committee President BRENDAN MC GEE (Jr., Merrimack, NH/Bishop Guertin), of the Hounds men's soccer team and SAAC Treasurer JILL FOLEY (Jr., Northampton, MA/Northampton), of the Greyhound swimming and diving team, accepted the check.