Nominees Announced For Northeast-10 Woman of the Year

Nominees Announced For Northeast-10 Woman of the Year





[Click Here For Full Release]


South Easton, Mass. – The Northeast-10 Conference has announced the 12 institutional nominees for the 2010 Northeast-10 Woman of the Year Award which is selected by the Senior Woman Administrator Council (SWA). The winner will automatically be put forward as the conference's nominee for the NCAA Woman of the Year.

The nominees include, Adelphi University's Amy Williams (Volleyball), American International College's Lisa Saltmarsh (Soccer), Assumption College's Leslie Lupien (Basketball), Bentley University's Alyssa Sliney (Field Hockey), Franklin Pierce University's Johannah Leedham (Basketball), the University of Massachusetts Lowell's Molly Clay (Field Hockey), Merrimack College's Kelly Pasquantonio (Field Hockey/Lacrosse), the University of New Haven's Kristine Lambracht (Cross Country/Lacrosse), Pace University's Taylor Losey (Basketball), Saint Michael's College's Lindsay Horne (Tennis), the College of Saint Rose's Mary German (Volleyball) and Stonehill College's Jackie Ladino (Field Hockey/Lacrosse).

The NCAA Woman of the Year award honors senior student-athletes for their collective collegiate achievements in service, leadership, athletics and academics. The NCAA Committee on Women's Athletics (CWA) receives nominations from each conference in Division I, II and III.

All conference nominees from the three divisions are forwarded to the Woman of the Year selection committee in which the committee then will select the top ten winners from each division. From among those 30 honorees, the selection committee will determine the top three in each division. Finally, the members of the CWA will vote from the top nine to determine the 2010 NCAA Woman of the Year, which will be announced in Indianapolis on October 17, 2010.

Last year's Northeast-10 Woman of the Year selection Kailey Egbert from Saint Rose was named a semifinalist for the NCAA Woman of the Year Award.

With 16 member institutions the Northeast-10 shares the distinction of being the largest Division II conference in the country along with the PSAC and WVIAC. Its 23 championship sports provide athletic opportunities for over 5,500 student-athletes, the largest such program of any Division II conference.


2010 NE-10 Institutional Woman of the Year Nominees

Amy Williams – Adelphi
Lisa Saltmarsh – American Int'l
Leslie Lupien – Assumption
Alyssa Sliney – Bentley
Johannah Leedham – Franklin Pierce
Molly Clay – UMass Lowell
Kelly Pasquantonio – Merrimack
Kristine Lambracht – New Haven
Taylor Losey – Pace
Lindsay Horne – Saint Michael's
Mary German – Saint Rose
Jackie Ladino - Stonehill