Northeast-10 Announces Spring Academic All-Conference Teams

Northeast-10 Announces Spring Academic All-Conference Teams




[Click Here For Full Release]


South Easton, Mass. – The Northeast-10 Conference has announced its Academic All-Conference teams for the 2010 spring athletic season in the sports of baseball, men's golf, men's and women's lacrosse, softball, men's and women's tennis and men's and women's outdoor track & field. A total of 85 student-athletes representing all 16 member institutions have been named.

Highlighted among the 85 academic all-conference selections are 44 student-athletes that excelled at a high level not only in the classroom, but on the field of play as well, earning Northeast-10 All-Conference honors this year. Among these student-athletes include eight that received major award honors including men's lacrosse seniors Cory Spinale (Wakefield, Mass.) from Merrimack College and Kevin DeBenedetto (Reading, Mass.) from Saint Anselm College. Spinale earned Goalkeeper of the Year honors, while DeBenedetto was named Defensive Player of the Year.

In the sport of women's lacrosse, Adelphi University junior Kristin Jones (Farmingdale, N.Y.) earned Defensive Player of the Year honors, while in the sport of softball University of New Haven senior Breanne Gleason (Bristol, Conn.) became the second softball player in NE-10 history to earn both Player and Pitcher of the Year accolades. UMass Lowell Outdoor Track & Field standouts Ruben Sanca (Boston, Mass.) andJacqui Barrett (Woburn, Mass.) each earned Athlete of the Year honors. In the sports of men's and women's tennis Bentley University senior Lorenzo Cava (Quito, Ecuador) and Southern New Hampshire University junior Amber Chandronnait (Bow, N.H.) each were selected as Player of the Year honorees in their respective sports.

To be eligible for selection to the academic all-conference teams, a student-athlete must have met and/or exceeded the following minimum requirements: 1) participated in at least half of the team's competitions and be either a starter or significant contributor; 2) achieved a 3.30 cumulative grade point average (on a 4.0 scale); and 3) completed at least one academic year at his/her current institution. The Northeast-10 Academic All-Conference teams are chosen by a vote of a committee of athletic administrators and Faculty Athletic Representatives (FAR).

With 16 member institutions the Northeast-10 shares the distinction of being the largest Division II conference in the country along with the PSAC and WVIAC. Its 23 championship sports provide athletic opportunities for over 5,500 student-athletes, the largest such program of any Division II conference.

- NE-10 -


2010 Spring Academic All-Conference Teams

Anthony Anzalone - Adelphi
Michael Colebrook - Assumption
Derek Ingui - Franklin Pierce
Luke Wallace - UMass Lowell
Dylan Ellis - Merrimack
Ryan Brockett - New Haven
Greg Malen - So. Connecticut
Tim Rines - So. New Hampshire
Angelo Bruno - Stonehill

Men's Golf
Kevin Daniels - American Int'l
Brian Jasset - Bentley
Peter Ledda - Bentley
Alex Macielak - Bentley
Kent St. Charles - Pace
D.J. Lantz - So. New Hampshire

Men's Lacrosse
Carroll Kennedy - Adelphi
Devin Schneiderbauer - Adelphi
Matt Allen - Bentley
Stephen Moulton - Bentley
Jack Vendetti - Le Moyne
Peter Schielke - Merrimack
Cory Spinale - Merrimack
Patrick Joyce - Pace
Kevin DeBenedetto - Saint Anselm
Zach Jandl - Saint Michael's

Women's Lacrosse
Jackie Bogensberger - Adelphi
Erica DeVito - Adelphi
Elizabeth Fey - Adelphi
Kristin Jones - Adelphi
Kelly Pasquantonio - Merrimack
Aubrey Duncan - New Haven
Kristine Lambracht - New Haven
Lauren Karn - So. Connecticut
Maura Murphy - So. New Hampshire
Jaclyn Craig - Stonehill
Jessie Ragnio - Stonehill

Rochelle Noren - Adelphi
Sarah Calgreen - American Int'l
Christina D'Amico - Bentley
Meaghan O'Neal - Franklin Pierce
Bailey Phillips - Le Moyne
Kelly Schweikert - Le Moyne
Jamie Millett - Merrimack
Breanne Gleason - New Haven
Chelsea Harold - New Haven
Liz Trafton - Saint Anselm
Katelyn Billings - Saint Michael's
Ashley Anderson - Saint Rose
Khristle Lee - So. Connecticut
Kelsey Griffin - So. New Hampshire
Katy Abarr - Stonehill

Men's Tennis
Lorenzo Cava - Bentley
Joseph Persia - Le Moyne
James Shelp - Le Moyne
Jon Ravenelle - Merrimack
Jonathan Burke - Stonehill
Michael Mashkevich - Stonehill

Women's Tennis
Amanda Aniboli - Adelphi
Kara Murphy - Bentley
Cristina Lucin - Merrimack
Joana Augustine - Pace
Amber Chandronnait - So. New Hampshire
Catalina Echeverry - So. New Hampshire

Men's Outdoor Track & Field
Kevin Dabrieo - Assumption
Steve Bergantino - Bentley
Steven Long - Bentley
Sean Reagan - Bentley
Angus MacDonald - UMass Lowell
Ruben Sanca - UMass Lowell
Kyle Lambert - New Haven
Tyler Gantz - Saint Rose
Kevin Jackson - Saint Rose
Corey Donahoe - Stonehill
Stephen Polito - Stonehill

Women's Outdoor Track & Field
Sarah Beaudoin - American Int'l
Kirsten Chirichetti - Assumption
Evelyn Marrero - Bentley
Jacqui Barrett - UMass Lowell
Haley Catarius - UMass Lowell
Sharikka Finley-Moise - UMass Lowell
Ashley Bell - So. Connecticut
Laura Brustolon - So. Connecticut
Letecia Taylor - So. Connecticut
Maura Ferrarini - Stonehill
Meghan Rocha - Stonehill