Northeast-10 Talent Making Most of Summer League Baseball Opportunities

Northeast-10 Talent Making Most of Summer League Baseball Opportunities

For Immediate Release

July 26, 2012

Twenty-Three Student-Athletes Named to
Respective Collegiate League All-Star Games

South Easton, Mass. – A total of 23 student-athletes from Northeast-10 Conference member institutions have garnered All-Star Game selection while competing in various summer collegiate baseball leagues across the country.

Franklin Pierce University and Chatham Anglers right-handed pitcher Ryan Thompson of the Cape Cod Baseball League headlines the conference's collection of summer all-stars. Commonly considered the top summer league in the nation, the CCBL will hold its annual All-Star Game this Saturday, July 28 at Whitehouse Field in Harwich, Mass.

Thompson, who was selected in the 36th round of the 2011 MLB Draft by the New York Yankees, has a 2.31 ERA in five starts for Chatham with 27 strikeouts over 27.1 innings.

The majority of summer league all-star games have already taken place, but in all, 10 of the 16 conference schools have had a representative selected this summer, and 10 of the 23 selections also received All-Conference honors this past season as well.

For the complete breakdown of summer league all-stars, please see below.

Southern New Hampshire University, which advanced to the NCAA Division II College World Series this past spring, has had five players receive bids, while Le Moyne College has had four players and Bentley University with three selected in various leagues.

Assumption College, Franklin Pierce, the University of Massachusetts Lowell and the University of New Haven have all had a pair of summer league All-Stars, while Adelphi University, American International College and Saint Anselm College have had one selection apiece.

Franklin Pierce first baseman and reigning Northeast-10 Player of the Year Zach Mathieu also won the home run derby as part of the Alaska Baseball League's All-Star Game festivities.

The Northeast-10 Conference is an association of 16 NCAA Division II colleges and universities located in New England and New York that is committed to supporting balanced academic and athletic opportunities for more than 6,000 student-athletes. Each year, 4,000 of those student-athletes compete in conference championships in 23 sports, making the NE-10 the largest DII conference in the country. Leading the way in the classroom, on the field and within the community, the Northeast-10 is proud of its comprehensive program and the experience it provides student-athletes.

List of NE-10 Players Selected to 2012 Summer League All-Star Games

Chris Pabisch LHP Adelphi ACBL Nassau Collegians
Daniel Guerrero RHP American Int'l ABCCL  Freehold Clippers
Shane Keddy* SS Assumption Futures League Wachusett Dirt Dawgs
Cody Rocha LHP Assumption Futures League
 Nashua Silver Knights
Greg Baggett* C Bentley Futures League  Brockton Rox
Logan Gillis* INF Bentley Futures League Nashua Silver Knights
Lamarre Rey RHP
Bentley Futures League Nashua Silver Knights
Trevor Graham RHP Franklin Pierce Valley League Front Royal Cardinals
Ryan Thompson^ RHP Franklin Pierce Cape Cod League
Chatham Anglers
Casey Cannon* RHP Le Moyne ABCCL Toms River Hurricanes
Kevin Carroll* RHP Le Moyne NYCBL Syracuse Junior Chiefs
Patrick Wiese OF Le Moyne Valley League
Haymarket Senators
Zach Wiley*
UT Le Moyne Valley League
Strasburg Express
James Katsiroubas* INF UMass Lowell Futures League Nashua Silver Knights
Jimmy Ricoy** OF UMass Lowell Futures League Pittsfield Suns
Zach Collett INF New Haven ACBL Shelter Island Tide
Joe Romanelli
C New Haven ACBL Nassau Collegians
Robert Kelly* 1B Saint Anselm NECBL Vermont Mountaineers
Matt Boulter* 2B So. New Hampshire NECBL Danbury Westerners
Tyler Gauthier
RHP So. New Hampshire NECBL Keene Swamp Bats
Andy Lalli C So. New Hampshire NECBL New Bedford Bay Sox
Jon Massad RHP So. New Hampshire NECBL New Bedford Bay Sox
Jon Minucci* OF So. New Hampshire Futures League Nashua Silver Knights

League Key:
ACBL – Atlantic Collegiate Baseball League
ABCCL - Atlantic Baseball Confederation Collegiate League
NECBL – New England Collegiate Baseball League
NYCBL – New York Collegiate Baseball League

^ - 2011 NE-10 Pitcher of the Year
* - 2012 NE-10 All-Conference Selection
** - 2012 NE-10 All-Rookie Selection