Southern New Hampshire Wins First-Ever Northeast-10 Baseball Championship

Southern New Hampshire Wins First-Ever Northeast-10 Baseball Championship


May 11, 2014

Story Courtesy of SNHU Athletics Communications

MANCHESTER N.H. – Junior Cole Warren fired eight shutout innings as top-seeded Southern New Hampshire University captured its first Northeast-10 Conference baseball championship with a 2-0 win over No. 4 Southwest seed Adelphi University at Penmen Field Sunday.  The Penmen, who moved through the Championship with a 4-0 record, have won eight straight and improve to 39-12, while the Panthers likely see their season come to a close at 24-23 overall.

With the win, the Penmen, who were No. 3 in the East Region this past week, earn an automatic berth to the NCAA Division II Baseball Championship East Regional that begins Thursday.  Southern New Hampshire will learn Sunday evening at 10:00 pm if it has done enough to overtake top-ranked Franklin Pierce University and second-ranked Wilmington (Del.) University to earn the top seed in the region and hosting duties for the third straight season.  The field will be announced via selection show on

Warren, who made his first appearance of more than six innings since March 15 against Dowling, scattered five hits in his eight shutout innings while striking out eight and walking four.

SNHU and Adelphi traded scoreless innings over the first four frames, despite the Panthers stranding six runners over the first five innings.  The Penmen scored both of their runs in the bottom of the fifth.  Alejandro Diaz led off with a single, then scored as the next batter, Tyler Fortanascio, doubled to the gap in right-center.  After Fortanascio moved to third on a Bryan Toland single, he scored on a sac fly deep to left by Anthony Aceto.

In the ninth, Warren walked leadoff batter Nick Zito, prompting SNHU head coach Scott Loiseau to go to closer Benjamin Criscuolo, who had closed out SNHU's last two wins with multi-inning saves.  After getting a groundout for the first out, Criscuolo walked Eric Hassell to give Adelphi runners at first and second.  Loiseau then brought in starter Derrick Sylvester for his first relief appearance of the season.  Sylvester got Brandon Stahl to pop out and Kyle Ambury to strike out swinging to end the game.

Sylvester was named the Championship Most Oustanding Player, while Criscuolo and Warren were also named to the All-Championship Team.

All-Championship Team
Matt Abramowitz, Adelphi
Richard Mejia, Adelphi
Brendon Buckley, New Haven
Benjamin Criscuolo, Southern New Hampshire
Derrick Sylvester, Southern New Hampshire
Cole Warren, Southern New Hampshire 
Billy Karalis, Stonehill

Most Outstanding Player - Derrick Sylvester

FIRST ROUND – Wednesday, May 7 (at higher seeds)
Game 1: #4 SW Adelphi 10, #1 SW Southern Connecticut 4 BOX
Game 2: #2 SW New Haven 1, #3 SW Le Moyne 0 BOX
Game 3: #1 NE Southern New Hampshire 9, #4 NE Bentley 1 BOX
Game 4: #3 NE Stonehill 11, #2 NE Franklin Pierce 4 BOX

CHAMPIONSHIP WEEKEND - Friday-Sunday, May 9-11
Hosted by Southern New Hampshire, Penmen Field, Manchester, N.H.

Friday, May 9 | RECAP
Game 5: #3 NE Stonehill 3, #4 SW Adelphi 1 BOX
Game 6: #1 NE Southern New Hampshire 8, #2 SW New Haven 1 BOX

Saturday, May 10 | RECAP
Game 7: #4 SW Adelphi 5, #2 SW New Haven 2 (New Haven eliminated) BOX
Game 8: #1 NE Southern New Hampshire 6, #3 NE Stonehill 5 BOX
Game 9: #4 SW Adelphi 7, #3 NE Stonehill 2 (Stonehill eliminated) BOX

Sunday, May 11
Game 10: #1 NE Southern New Hampshire 2, #4 SW Adelphi 0 (Adelphi eliminated) BOX

– #NE10 –