SNHU's Goldstein Selected as Player of the Year as NE10 Announces Baseball Honors

SNHU's Goldstein Selected as Player of the Year as NE10 Announces Baseball Honors




MANSFIELD, Mass. - Southern New Hampshire graduate student Zach Goldstein has been selected as the 2017 Northeast-10 Conference Baseball Player of the Year, as the league announced it's major award winners and all-conference teams today.

For the complete list of All-Conference selections, see below. The awards are voted on by the league's 15 head coaches following the completion of the regular season.

Southern New Hampshire led all programs with eight student-athletes honored as all-conference selections, including four first-teamers. Franklin Pierce and Southern Connecticut each had six, while Le Moyne and New Haven had five.

Goldstein, the Penmen's do-everything third baseman was among the conference's leaders in just about every statistical category, while being one of the premier defensive infielders in the league. Currently, he leads the league in triples (6), walks (34), and hit-by-pitch (14). He is also second in runs scored (47) and on base percentage (.479), while his 20 stolen bases are third-best.

Goldstein helped SNHU to a current record of 40-7 and a Northeast Division regular season title as he has had at least one hit in 35 of the 45 games he's played this season, and he was also a First Team All-Conference selection.

Adelphi's TJ Santiago was tabbed NE10 Pitcher of the Year by the league's head coaches. The senior right-hander had another dominant season for Adelphi as he posted a record of 8-3 with a 1.51 earned run average during his 2017 campaign. He struck out 81 batters over 77.2 innings of work and was named to the First Team for the second consecutive season.

Santiago's eight wins led the conference, and he also led the league with three shutouts. The Linden, N.J. product was even more dominant in NE10 play as he was 5-2 with a 1.09 ERA against league foes.

Bentley's Ryan Berardino earned NE10 Rookie Hitter of the Year, while Le Moyne's Chase Borowitz was the conference's Rookie Pitcher of the Year. Berardino made an immediate impact for the Falcons offensively as he hit .355 (5th-best) on the season. The freshman also posted a .442 on pase percentage in helping lead Bentley to a post-season berth.

Although he missed three weeks due to an injury, Berardino still drove in 13 runs and scored 15 to help lead the Bentley offense. He was also named to the NE10 Second Team at First Base, as well as to the conference's All-Rookie Team.

Borowitz becomes the second-consecutive Le Moyne student-athlete to earn this award as his teammate, Sam Walsh, was honored last year. The freshman right-hander finished his season with a record of 3-1 and a 2.41 ERA.  In 41 innings of work for the Dolphins, Borowitz struck out 31 batters and only allowed 34 hits. He was also named to the league's All-Rookie Team.

SNHU's Scott Loiseau was chosen as the Bob Bellizzi NE10 Coach of the Year for the second consecutive season. Loiseau has led the Penmen to a record of 40-7, including a mark of 20-1 in Northeast Division play. Currently ranked fifth in the nation and tops in the East Region, the Penmen have won 15 straight games. Eight of Loiseau's players were all-conference selections, as well.

Player of the Year: Zach Goldstein, Southern New Hampshire
Pitcher of the Year: TJ Santiago, Adelphi
Rookie Hitter of the Year: Ryan Berardino, Bentley
Rookie Pitcher of the Year: Chase Borowitz, Le Moyne
Bob Bellizzi Coach of the Year: Scott Loiseau, Southern New Hampshire 

2017 NE10 Baseball All-Conference

First Team
C - Andrew Jaehnig, Assumption
1B - Cam DiSarcina, Merrimack 
2B - Steve Withers, Adelphi 
3B - Zach Goldstein, Southern New Hampshire 
SS - Tom Walraven, New Haven 
OF - John Kukura, Pace 
OF - Mike Gulino, Pace
OF - Nick Lamberti, Southern Connecticut
OF - Caleb Potter, Southern New Hampshire
DH - Ryan Sullivan, Southern New Hampshire 
UTIL - Greg Zullo, Southern Connecticut 
SP - TJ Santiago, Adelphi
SP - John Amendola, Franklin Pierce
SP - David Palmer, New Haven
SP - Mitchell Powers, Southern New Hampshire
RP - Josiah Gray, Le Moyne 

Second Team
C - Stephen Octave, Franklin Pierce 
1B - Ryan Berardino, Bentley 
2B - Paul Buckley, Merrimack 
3B - Jack Zagaja, New Haven 
SS - Jim Palmer, Southern Connecticut 
OF - Adam Chase, Franklin Pierce
OF - Rob Petrillo, New Haven
OF - John Stanton, Southern New Hampshire
OF - Ben Monte, Stonehill
DH - Matt Ronai, Merrimack 
UTIL - Brett Malm, Adelphi 
SP - Cody McPartland, Franklin Pierce
SP - Sean Pisik, Le Moyne
SP - Tim Kennedy, New Haven
SP - Cole Bryant, Southern Connecticut 
RP - Nate Spielvogel, Merrimack 

Third Team
C -  Mike DeMartino, Southern Connecticut
1B - Dalton Davis, Franklin Pierce 
2B - Mike Salmonese, Pace 
3B - John Friday, Franklin Pierce 
SS - Steve Lee, Stonehill 
OF - Brandon Morse, Adelphi
OF - Matt Krause, American International
OF - JT Pittman, Le Moyne
OF - Kyle Hart, Southern Connecticut 
DH - Chris Starcun, American International 
UTIL - Camillo Spinoso, Le Moyne 
SP - Bill Sullivan, Bentley
SP - Damian Powers, Le Moyne
SP - Alex Person, Southern New Hampshire
SP - Jake Stearns, Southern New Hampshire  
RP - Stephen Fortuna, Southern New Hampshire 

All-Rookie Team
Ryan Bruning, American International
Matt Krause, American International 
Jared Brescia, Assumption
Ryan Berardino, Bentley
Austin Farry, Bentley
Derek Duffy, Franklin Pierce
Dylan Jones, Franklin Pierce
Chase Borowitz, Le Moyne
Joey Porricelli, Merrimack
Matt Chamberlain, New Haven
Brandon LaManna, New Haven
Connor Hopkins, Saint Michael's
Nate Carney, Southern Connecticut
Brendan Ebert, Southern Connecticut
Nick Artymowicz, Southern New Hampshire
Tom Blandini, Southern New Hampshire
Dan Paul, Stonehill

The NE10 is an association of 15 diverse institutions serving student-athletes across 24 NCAA Division II sports. Together we build brilliant futures by embracing the journey of every student-athlete. 

Each year, 4,500 student-athletes compete in conference championships, making the NE10 the largest DII conference in the country in terms of sport sponsorship. Leading the way in the classroom, on the field and within the community, the NE10 is proud of its comprehensive program and the experience it provides student-athletes.