Charged Up! New Haven Wins Four Straight to Claim 2017 NE10 Baseball Championship

Charged Up! New Haven Wins Four Straight to Claim 2017 NE10 Baseball Championship



WEST HAVEN. Conn. - With a pair of wins against Franklin Pierce on Sunday, New Haven won the Northeast-10 Conference Championship, downing the Ravens 7-3 and 12-1. It is the first conference title since 2013 and will mark New Haven's first trip to the NCAA Tournament that same year.

David Palmer was named the tournament's Most Outstanding Player.

In the opener, after the Chargers took a 1-0 lead in the fourth inning, Franklin Pierce scored three runs in the fifth to take a 3-1 advantage. New Haven responded with two runs in the sixth to draw even. The Blue and Gold loaded the bases in the seventh before a double by Robert Petrillo and a single by Nick Perrelli drove in a pair of runs each. For the game, Perrelli drove in four runs for New Haven.

The second game saw the Chargers break open the scoring in a big way, plating seven runs in the fourth. From there New Haven added to the lead scoring twice in the sixth and three times in the ninth with FPU getting their only run in the bottom of the sixth.

Once again, pitching dominated as the Blue and Gold got five shutout innings from Joe Caico. Will Aldam and Connor Moriarty each pitched a scoreless inning of relief.

GAME ONE - New Haven 7, Franklin Pierce 3 | BOXSCORE

Scoreless into the fourth, New Haven struck first as Tom Walraven singled to lead off the inning and moved to second on a balk. After Petrillo sacrificed him to third, Perrelli singled through the left side past a drawn-in infield to plate Walraven for a 1-0 lead.

The Ravens responded, scoring three runs in the top of the fifth inning to take their first lead of the game.

Walraven and Perrelli teamed up again to account for some offense in the sixth. With one out, Walraven was hit by a pitch and stole second. Two batters later, Perrelli lined a single to left, plating the runner to cut the FPU lead to 3-2. Jack Zagaja came up next and drove a ball to the base of the fence in left, bringing around Perrelli, tying the contest at 3-3.

The Blue and Gold put the game away in the seventh. With one out, James Myers reached on a fielder's choice and moved to second on a single by PJ Contreras before a walk to Matt Chamberlain loaded the bases. After a groundout cut down the lead runner at the plate, Petrillo dropped a double down the left field line to score two runs and put New Haven up 5-3. Perrelli followed with a bounding single through the right side to plate Walraven and Petrillo, extending the lead to 7-3.

David Palmerran his record to 8-0 with seven innings of work, allowing two earned runs and struck out seven.

GAME TWO - New Haven 12, Franklin Pierce 1 | BOXSCORE

After neither team cracked the scoreboard in the first three innings, New Haven exploded in the fourth. With the bases loaded, Zagaja singled to drive in the first run before a Joe Caico walk forced in the second. Andrew Garcia followed with a hit to right, scoring Perrelli and Zagaja, making it 4-0. A bases loaded hit batsman to PJ Contreras and a walk by Matt Chamberlain forced in a run each, extending the lead to 6-0 before a sac fly by Walraven capped the scoring.

The Chargers added two more runs in the sixth on a single by Perrelli, his fifth hit and RBI of the day, and a double by Zagaja.

The Blue and Gold scored the final three runs in the ninth, keyed by an RBI single from Walraven and a sac fly by Petrillo.

2017 NE10 All-Championship Team
John Amendola, Franklin Pierce
Stephen Octave, Franklin Pierce
Devon DiMascio, New Haven
David Palmer, New Haven
Nick Perrelli, New Haven
Michael Gulino, Pace
Mitchell Powers, Southern New Hampshire 

Championship Most Outstanding Player - David Palmer, New Haven

2017 NE10 Baseball Championship Schedule

Tuesday, May 9th– First Round (single elimination)

Game 1:  #4 SW Pace 5 #1 SW Southern Connecticut 2 
Game 2:  #2 SW New Haven 3, #3 SW Le Moyne 0
Game 3:  #1 NE Southern New Hampshire 2, #4 NE Bentley 1, Final - 10 Innings
Game 4:  #2 NE Franklin Pierce 8, #3 NE Merrimack 0

Championship Weekend 
Hosted by the University of New Haven 

Thursday, May 11

Game #5:  #2 NE Franklin Pierce 14, #4 SW Pace 1
Game #6:  #1 NE Southern New Hampshire 1, #2 SW New Haven 0

Friday, May 12

Game #7: #2 SW New Haven 6, #4 SW Pace 2
Game #8: #2 NE Franklin Pierce 6, #1 NE Southern New Hampshire 4
Game #9: #2 SW New Haven 3, #1 NE Southern New Hampshire 0

Sunday, May 14

 Game #10: #2 SW New Haven 7, #2 NE Franklin Pierce 3
Game #11: #2 SW New Haven 12, #2 NE Franklin Pierce 1

Information for this release provided by the athletic communications staff at New Haven

The NE10 is an association of 15 diverse institutions serving student-athletes across 24 NCAA Division II sports. Together we build brilliant futures by embracing the journey of every student-athlete. 

Each year, 4,500 student-athletes compete in conference championships, making the NE10 the largest DII conference in the country in terms of sport sponsorship. Leading the way in the classroom, on the field and within the community, the NE10 is proud of its comprehensive program and the experience it provides student-athletes.