Le Moyne's Ben Walsh Named Player of the Year as NE10 Announces Baseball Awards

Le Moyne's Ben Walsh Named Player of the Year as NE10 Announces Baseball Awards



Southwest Division Champion 'Phins Earn Four Major Awards

MANSFIELD, Mass. - Le Moyne redshirt junior shortstop Ben Walsh has been selected as the 2018 Northeast-10 Conference Baseball Player of the Year, as the league announced it's major award winners and all-conference teams today. For the complete list of All-Conference selections, see below. The awards are voted on by the league's 15 head coaches following the completion of the regular season.

Franklin Pierce, Le Moyne, and Southern New Hampshire each had seven student-athletes recognized as all-conference selections to lead the league. Le Moyne had an NE10-best four first team selections, while Franklin Pierce had three.

Walsh helped lead the Dolphins to the Southwest Division Regular Season title as he's among the conference's leaders in virtually every statistical category.  He's currently leading the NE10 in runs batted in with 55, and is second in both home runs (10) and slugging percentage (.634). He's also in the top ten in hits (68), batting average (.366), and on base percentage (.455). Walsh was also named a First Team All-Conference Selection and will be looking to lead the Dolphins to their first NE10 title since 2012 when Championship Weekend play begins Thursday afternoon.

Walsh's teammate Josiah Gray and New Haven's David Palmer were named Co-NE10 Pitchers of the Year. The two Southwest Division standouts have had sensational seasons for their respective teams. Gray got the victory for the 'Phins in yesterday's First Round win over Pace to earn his league-best 10th win of the spring. The hard-throwing right-hander also leads the league in 96 strikeouts and his 1.28 earned run average is third-best. Palmer, meanwhile, had another outstanding season for the Chargers. The senior is currently 8-1 with a 0.99 ERA. Opponents are hitting just .172 against him and he'll be a big part of the New Haven attack when the team looks to defend it's conference title this weekend. Both Gray and Palmer were also named First Team All-Conference selections.

SNHU's Dakota Mulcay earned NE10 Rookie Hitter of the Year, while Le Moyne's Ryan Murphy was tabbed the conference's Rookie Pitcher of the Year. Mulcay helped lead the Penmen to the Northeast Division title, as the freshman catcher hit .274 in his first year in the NE10. He's among the league leaders with seven home runs and 31 runs driven in and was also a Third Team All-Conference honoree. Murphy was outstanding on the mound for the 'Phins in his first year in the league. The righthander is currently 7-2 with a 2.16 ERA. So far this season, he's worked 79 innings and struck out 67, while only allowing 13 walks. The highlight of his season so far was the no hitter he threw against divisional-rival New Haven during the season. Murphy was named a Second Team All-Conference selection. Both Mulcay and Murphy were also named to the conference's All-Rookie Team. 

Murphy is the third consecutive Le Moyne student-athlete to earn this award. Chase Borowitz was named the award winner last year, while Sam Walsh was recognized during the 2016 season.

Le Moyne's Scott Cassidy was chosen as the Bob Bellizzi NE10 Coach of the Year. Cassidy has led the Dolphins to a mark of 33-13-1, including a 13-5 record in Southwest Division play. Seven of Cassidy's players were selected All-Conference honorees, including Player of the Year, Ben Walsh, and Pitcher of the Year, Josiah Gray. The Le Moyne College graduate will be looking to lead the 'Phins back to the top of the NE10 when Championship play takes place this weekend.

Player of the Year: Ben Walsh, Le Moyne
Co-Pitchers of the Year: Josiah Gray, Le Moyne and David Palmer, New Haven 
Rookie Hitter of the Year: Dakota Mulcay, Southern New Hampshire
Rookie Pitcher of the Year: Ryan Murphy, Le Moyne
Bob Bellizzi Coach of the Year: Scott Cassidy, Le Moyne

2018 NE10 Baseball All-Conference

First Team
C - Andrew Jaehnig, Assumption*
1B - Andrew Taft, Le Moyne
2B - Mike Samko, Bentley
3B - John Friday, Franklin Pierce  
SS - Ben Walsh, Le Moyne
OF - Brandon Grover, Bentley
OF - Adam Chase, Franklin Pierce 
OF - Brian Cox, Le Moyne 
OF - Matt Nicholson, Merrimack 
DH - Matt Ronai, Merrimack 
UTIL - Matt Costanza, AIC  
SP - Zach Hart, Franklin Pierce 
SP - Josiah Gray, Le Moyne*
SP - David Palmer, New Haven*
SP - Dan Wirchansky, Pace 
RP - Brendon Lamanna, New Haven

* First Team Selection Last Year

Second Team
C - Camillo Spinoso, Le Moyne
1B - Mike Coggeshall, Franklin Pierce
2B - Steve Withers, Adelphi 
3B - Thomas Blandini, SNHU 
SS - Tom Walraven, New Haven
OF - Brad Roberto, Franklin Pierce
OF - Tyler Lyne, Merrimack 
OF - Joe Caico, New Haven
OF - Caleb Potter, SNHU 
DH - Nick Place, Le Moyne 
UTIL - Mike Gulino, Pace 
SP - Ryan Murphy, Le Moyne
SP - PJ Browne, Merrimack
SP - Tim Kennedy, New Haven
SP - Griffin Bremer, SCSU 
RP - Jake Walkinshaw, SNHU

Third Team
C -  Dakota Mulcay, SNHU
1B - Harry Sabo, Stonehill
2B - Joshua Goldstein, SNHU 
3B - Joey Porricelli, Merrimack
SS - Kyle Pangallo, SNHU
OF - Lucas Terwilliger, Adelphi
OF - Quinn Moynihan, Assumption 
OF - Max Troiani, Bentley
OF - Nick Lamberti, SCSU 
DH - Ryan Berardino, Bentley
UTIL - Ethan Joyce, SCSU
UTIL - Matt Rocco, Stonehill 
SP - John Amendola, Franklin Pierce
SP - Ryan Covelle, Franklin Pierce 
SP - Greg Musk, Saint Rose 
SP - Mitchell Powers, SNHU  
RP - Kellen Croce, New Haven

All-Rookie Team
Mark Novello, Adelphi
Maxwell Steele, Adelphi
Joe Kemlage, AIC
Chris Hopkins, Bentley 
Zach Player, Franklin Pierce 
Ryan Murphy, Le Moyne
Brian O'Mara, Le Moyne
Vin Zappulla, Merrimack
Izaiaya Mestre, New Haven
Matt Almonte, Pace
Matt Butigan, Saint Anselm
Will Conaton, Saint Anselm
Danté Moran, Saint Michael's
Paul Prue, Saint Michael's
Franciso Infante, Saint Rose
Tony Zambito, SCSU
Jonas Webler, SCSU 
Dakota Mulcay, SNHU
Jeffrey Praml, SNHU
Jared Brooks, Stonehill

The NE10 is an association of 15 diverse institutions serving student-athletes across 24 NCAA Division II sports. Together we build brilliant futures by embracing the journey of every student-athlete. 

Each year, 4,500 student-athletes compete in conference championships, making the NE10 the largest DII conference in the country in terms of sport sponsorship. Leading the way in the classroom, on the field and within the community, the NE10 is proud of its comprehensive program and the experience it provides student-athletes.