Embrace The Championship: DANCIN' - Five NE10 Teams Selected to Compete in NCAA Baseball Championship

Embrace The Championship: DANCIN' - Five NE10 Teams Selected to Compete in NCAA Baseball Championship





Record-Best Five NE10 Programs Hear Name Called on Selection Sunday

- Five Northeast-10 Conference baseball teams will compete in the 2018 NCAA East Regional, when play begins this Thursday at Finnerty Field on the campus of Pace University. New Haven, the region's top seed, will serve as the host institution. The five different teams earning a berth in the NCAA field represents a new conference benchmark.

To see the full schedule of this year's East Regional, which will run from Thursday through Monday, see below.

New Haven was awarded the top seed by virtue of their program-record 37 wins. The Chargers earn the first round bye and will take the field for the first time Friday at 3pm. Seeds three though six all represent the NE10. Le Moyne, the NE10 Southwest Division regular season champions, earned the No. 3 seed. Southern New Hampshire - the Northeast Division Champions - earned the No. 4 seed, while Franklin Pierce will be the No. 5 seed.  SNHU and Franklin Pierce will square off in the final game of the Day on Thursday, with first pitch scheduled for 7pm. It'll be the fourth time this spring the two longtime rivals will meet this spring. 

Merrimack, which won the automatic qualification by virtue of their NE10 Championship title, will be the No. 6 seed in this year's regional. It's the first time since 1999 that the Warriors will be a part of the NCAA Championship field.

2018 Baseball East Region Championship
Thursday, May 17
Game 1: No 3 Le Moyne vs. No. 6 Merrimack - 11:00 am
Game 2: No. 2 St. Thomas Aquinas vs. No. 7 Wilmington - 3:00 pm
Game 3: No. 4 Southern New Hampshire vs. No. 5 Franklin Pierce - 7:00 pm
Friday, May 18
Game 4: Game 1 Loser vs. Game 2 Loser - 11:00 am (loser is eliminated)
Game 5: No. 1 New Haven vs. Game 3 Winner - 3:00 pm
Game 6: Game 1 Winner vs. Game 2 Winner - 7:00 pm
Saturday, May 20
Game 7: Game 4 Winner vs. Game 5 Loser - 11:00 am (loser is eliminated)
Game 8: Game 6 Loser vs. Game 3 Loser - 3:00 pm (loser is eliminated)
Game 9: Game 5 Winner vs. Game 6 Winner - 7:00 pm
Sunday, May 21
Game 10: Game 8 Winner vs. Game 7 Winner - 12:00 pm (loser is eliminated) 
Game 11: Game 10 Winner vs. Game 9 Loser - 4:00 pm (loser is eliminated)
Monday, May 22
Game 12: Game 9 Winner vs. Game 11 Winner - 12:00 pm
Game 13: Game 12 Winner vs. Game 12 Loser - 4:00 pm (if necessary)

The NE10 is an association of 15 diverse institutions serving student-athletes across 24 NCAA Division II sports. Together we build brilliant futures by embracing the journey of every student-athlete. 

Each year, 4,500 student-athletes compete in conference championships, making the NE10 the largest DII conference in the country in terms of sport sponsorship. Leading the way in the classroom, on the field and within the community, the NE10 is proud of its comprehensive program and the experience it provides student-athletes.