Stonehill's Record-Breaking Kacie Smith Repeats as NE10 Player of the Year as League Announces Field Hockey Honors

Stonehill's Record-Breaking Kacie Smith Repeats as NE10 Player of the Year as League Announces Field Hockey Honors



MANSFIELD, Mass. – Stonehill junior Kacie Smith has been named the 2017 Northeast-10 Conference Field Hockey Player of the Year, it was announced on Wednesday as the league released its all-conference teams and major award winners. It's the second consecutive year that the high scoring forward has been recognized with this award.

For a complete list of all-conference members and award winners, as voted upon by the league's coaches, please see below. Overall, Merrimack led the way with five all-conference selections, followed by Saint Anselm who had four student-athletes selected.

A three-time national player of the week, Smith has scored 40 goals so far this season breaking the NE10 record. Her 40 goals matches the NCAA Division II single-season record set by Bloomsburg (Pa.) University's Jamie Vanartsdalen in 2008. She currently leads all three levels of NCAA field hockey in scoring and goals, while ranking second for assists, is also just four points shy of Vanartsdalen's single-season scoring record (102 points) with 97 points. Smith has scored in 17 of the Skyhawks 18 games this season. Nine times this season she has scored at least three goals in a game.

Smith has helped lead the Skyhawks to a 13-5 mark overall, and they will host Assumption in one NE10 semifinal game on Friday. She was also named a First Team All-Conference selection

Saint Anselm's Erin Collins was selected by the coaches as the conference's Defensive Player of the Year. The senior helped lead a back line that allowed only 18 goals in 18 games so far this season. She helped lead the Hawks to a 17-1 mark during the regular season, including the NE10 regular season title as Saint Anselm posted an 11-1 mark in conference play. So far this season, Collins' defensive group has posted eight shutouts. She has also chipped in offensively, having registerd six goals so far this season and adding four assists. Her 16 points actually puts her in the top 30 in the league. Collins was also named a First Team selection.

Pace's Lesly Sanchez-Alvarez was tabbed the NE10 Goalkeeper of the Year following an outstanding season in net for the Setters. Sanchez-Alvarez led the league in goals against average (0.88) and save percentage (.830). She started all 19 games for a resurgent Pace team this season, and allowed only 17 goals all season long. She was a big part of the Setters being among the national leaders in virtually every statistical category this fall. Sanchez-Alvarez was also named a First Team All-Conference selection.

Southern New Hampshire's Helene Servais was named the NE10 Rookie of the Year. The native of Brussels scored eight goals and added three assists for the Penmen in helping them to an 8-9 mark during her first season in the conference. Her eight tallies is currently tied for 17th-best in the league, while her 19 points is 20th-best. Servais was also named to the conference's All-Rookie team.

Carolyn King Robitaille was selected as the league's Coach of the Year for the second consecutive year after guiding Saint Anselm to their second straight NE10 regular season title. Robitaille's Hawks, currently rank third in the Penn Monto/NFHCA Coaches Poll, are currently 17-1 and posted an 11-1 record in conference play this season. They will host LIU Post in one semifinal on Friday. Four of Robitaille's players were named All-Conference, including three first team honorees.

Player of the Year – Kacie Smith, Stonehill^
Rookie of the Year – Helene Servais, SNHU
Defensive Player of the Year – Erin Collins, Saint Anselm
Goalkeeper of the Year – Lesly Sanchez-Alvarez, Pace
Coach of the Year – Carolyn King Robitaille, Saint Anselm^

^ - Won award in 2016 

2017 NE10 Field Hockey All-Conference
First Team
Allison Sheahan, M, Assumption*
Emily Miller, F, LIU Post*
Rylie Hammond, F, Merrimack%
Delaney Yule, D, Merrimack
Margaret Maclean, D, Pace
Lesly Sanchez-Alvarez, GK, Pace
Erin Collins, B, Saint Anselm% 
Emma Kincaid, F, Saint Anselm
Mia Vecchione, M, Saint Anselm
Jenna Deschaine, B, Saint Michael's%
Michaela Antonellis, D/M, Stonehill 
Kacie Smith, F, Stonehill* 

Second Team
Jamie Ahrens, D, Adelphi
Elizabeth Mercuri, F/M, Adelphi
Carly Canavan, F, Franklin Pierce
Raegan Moulton, M, Franklin Pierce
Julie Gysels, B, LIU Post
Kaycee Zelkovsky, M, LIU Post
Mary Mcneil, M, Merrimack*
Katharina Ohmen, Merrimack$
Taylor Simpson, M, Merrimack
Paige Predmore, M, Pace
Hannah Friend, F, Saint Anselm$ 
Laura van der Doorn, F/M, So. New Hampshire$
Carly Andersen, F, Stonehill

* - First Team in 2016
% - Second Team in 2016
$ - All-Rookie Team in 2016

All-Rookie Team
Isabel Primack, F, Assumption
Shannon Quinlan, F, Assumption
Sam Simione, D, Bentley
Sammy Bell, F, LIU Post
Rachel Vellis, GK, LIU Post
Colleen Ellis, F, Merrimack
Lisette de Bruin, F, Pace
Kendall Clifford, M, Saint Anselm
Julia Hand, GK, Saint Anselm
Helene Servais, F, So. New Hampshire
Elaine Bachelder, D, Stonehill
Taylor Ladue, F, Stonehill

The NE10 is an association of 15 diverse institutions serving student-athletes across 24 NCAA Division II sports. Together we build brilliant futures by embracing the journey of every student-athlete.

Each year, 4,500 of those student-athletes compete in conference championships in 24 sports, making the NE10 the largest DII conference in the country in terms of sport sponsorship. Leading the way in the classroom, on the field and within the community, the NE10 is proud of its comprehensive program and the experience it provides student-athletes.