Embrace the Victory: Saint Anselm Earns Top Seed in NE10 Field Hockey Championship

saint anslem champion graphic

MANSFIELD, Mass. - Saint Anselm earned the top seed in the upcoming Northeast-10 Conference Field Hockey Championship as announced by the conference on Saturday evening. 

The Hawks went an impressive 13-1 in conference play this year to secure its third NE10 Regular Season Title in the last four seasons. During conference play they were dominant, allowing just one goal in 14 contests while scoring 56 times. Adelphi and Southern New Hampshire both went 12-2, though Adelphi secured the No. 2 seed thanks to its head-to-head victory over the Penmen earlier this season. Bentley, St. Thomas Aquinas & Franklin Pierce all concluded with matching 7-7 records, however, Bentley earned the No. 6 seed thanks to a tiebreaker advantage over the other two schools, while the Spartans secured the No. 7 seed courtesy of a head-to-head victory over the Ravens.

Top seed Saint Anselm will host No. 8 Franklin Pierce at 7 p.m. on Tuesday, while No. 7 Saint Thomas Aquinas will travel to play Adelphi at 4 p.m. Southern New Hampshire will host No. 6 Bentley at 4 p.m. in Manchester. Stonehill and Assumption both went 11-3 in conference action, but the Skyhawks earned the No. 4 seed thanks to a 1-0 overtime victory at home against the Greyhounds earlier this season. These two will square off on Tuesday at 1 p.m. at Stonehill.

NE10 Semifinals are scheduled for Friday, Nov. 8, with the championship game on Sunday, Nov. 10 at 1 p.m. at the home site of the highest seed remaining. The 2019 NE10 Championship game will be broadcast live on Northeast10.tv and NE10 NOW. Updates will be available @TheNortheast10 on Twitter. 

For the full list of seeds and schedule, please see below:



2019 NE10 Field Hockey Championship Schedule

Tuesday, Nov. 5     
First Round ­
Game 1: #8 Franklin Pierce at #1 Saint Anselm - 6 PM
Game 2: #7 St. Thomas Aquinas at #2 Adelphi - 4 PM
Game 3: #6 Bentley at #3 Southern New Hampshire - 4 PM
Game 4 #5 Assumption at #4 Stonehill - 1 PM

Friday, November 8   
Semifinals - at higher seeds
Game 5:  Game 1 winner vs Game 4 winner
Game 6:  Game 2 winner vs. Game 3 winner

Sunday, November 10
Championship ­ (to be held at highest remaining seed)
Game 7: Game 5 winner vs. Game 6 winner - 1 PM

The NE10 is an association of 14 diverse institutions serving student-athletes across 24 NCAA Division II sports. Together we build brilliant futures by embracing the journey of every student-athlete.

Each year, 4,500 of those student-athletes compete in conference championships in 24 sports, making the NE10 the largest DII conference in the country in terms of sport sponsorship. Leading the way in the classroom, on the field and within the community, the NE10 is proud of its comprehensive program and the experience it provides student-athletes.