Saint Anselm & Southern N.H. Highlight NE10 Field Hockey All-Conference Honors

laura van der doorn


Saint Anselm & Southern New Hampshire Sweep Major All-Conference Awards

MANSFIELD, Mass. – Southern New Hampshire senior Laura van der Doorn has been selected as the 2019 Northeast-10 Field Hockey Player of the Year as announced by the conference on Wednesday afternoon. She was one of two Penmen to win a major award, while Saint Anselm also had a pair of student-athletes earn major awards. 

The Hawks' Anna Drakeley was honored as the Defensive Player of the Year, while teammate Julia Hand earned Goalkeeper of the Year honors. SNHU freshman Lisa Hagel was named the NE10 Rookie of the Year. Saint Anselm coach Carolyn King-Robitaille was selected as the NE10 Coach of the Year for the third time in her career. To view a complete list on all-conference honorees, see below. 

This year van der Doorn is tied for the NE10 lead with 14 goals and also had four assists for 32 points. She led the Penmen to a school-record 15-3 record in the regular season, including nine straight wins to vault the program to No. 6 in the nation this week. She has scored in 12 games this year with a pair of game-winning goals. 

Drakeley anchored a dominant defense this year, one which allowed just a single goal in 14 conference contests. Overall the Hawks' four goals allowed leads the nation and is four fewer than any other team in the country. She also added an assist on the season in helping her team to a 16-2 overall record. 

Hand has started every game for the Hawks in the cage this year and currently leads the nation in both save percentage (.875) and goals against average (0.19). In 868 minutes of regular season action, she gave up just three goals while making 21 saves with ten shutouts on the way to an impressive 15-2 record. 

Hagel burst on the scene this year to rank fourth in the NE10 with 13 goals while tying for fifth with 29 total points during the regular season. She had five game-winning goals this season while scoring once in each of the team's final four games of the regular season to secure the No. 3 seed in the NE10 Tournament. 

Saint Anselm's King-Robitaille led her team to its third NE10 Regular Season Title in the last four seasons while earning her third Coach of the Year award during that span. Her team opened the year 9-0 without allowing a single goal and only two different teams scored on the Hawks during the regular season.

laura van der doorn

anna drakeley julia hand

lisa hagel

carolyn king-robitaille

Player of the Year
Laura van der Doorn, Southern N.H. 

Defensive Player of the Year
Anna Drakeley, Saint Anselm 

Goalkeeper of the Year
Julia Hand, Saint Anselm

Rookie of the Year
Lisa Hagel, Southern N.H.

Coach of the Year
Carolyn King-Robitaille, Saint Anselm 

First-Team All-Conference (13)*
Jackie Brown, Adelphi
Elissa Frein, Adelphi
Danielle Kempf, Adelphi
Deirdre Burchill, Assumption
Tess Anderson, Bentley
Rachel Crowley, Bentley
Anna Drakeley, Saint Anselm
Hannah Friend, Saint Anselm
Julia Hand, Saint Anselm
Lisa Hagel, Southern N.H.
Hélène Servais, Southern N.H.
Laura van der Doorn, Southern N.H.
Michaela Antonellis, Stonehill 

Second-Team All-Conference (12)
Katelynn Leclerc, American Int'l
Lucy Malia, Assumption
Courtney Sickel, Assumption
Summer Walsh, Assumption
Mia Lennon, Pace
Kaeleigh Lord, Saint Anselm
Carly LaCasse, Saint Anselm
Jenna Puleo, Saint Michael's
Briannah Thorne, Saint Thomas Aquinas
Brianna Craft, Southern Conn. St.
Katie Lammando, Stonehill
Sophie Schreck, Stonehill

Third-Team All-Conference (12)
Bianca Bachisin, Adelphi
Alexandra Docyk, Adelphi
Chelsea Davis, American Int'l
Sam Simione, Bentley
Julianne Sacco, Franklin Pierce
Jessica Strassburg, Franklin Pierce
Feline van Doorn, Franklin Pierce
Taylor Geaglone, New Haven
Natalie Shaker, New Haven
Emily Campbell, Southern N.H.
Melanie Rennie, Southern N.H.
Emma Mawn, Stonehill

All-Rookie Team (12)
Bianca Bachisin, Adelphi
Giana McKeough, Adelphi
Nikki Bates, American Int'l
Kirstin Snethlage, American Int'l
Meghan Winn, Franklin Pierce
Alyssa Sacco, Mercy
Jessica Wolfe, Pace
Maeve Murphy, Saint Anselm
Lisa Larsson, Saint Thomas Aquinas
Lisa Hagel, Southern N.H.
Andrea Caradonna, Stonehill
Mackenzie Quigley, Stonehill


The NE10 is an association of 14 diverse institutions serving student-athletes across 24 NCAA Division II sports. Together we build brilliant futures by embracing the journey of every student-athlete.

Each year, 4,500 of those student-athletes compete in conference championships in 24 sports, making the NE10 the largest DII conference in the country in terms of sport sponsorship. Leading the way in the classroom, on the field and within the community, the NE10 is proud of its comprehensive program and the experience it provides student-athletes.