Southern New Hampshire Wins 2015 NE-10 Men’s Golf Championship

Southern New Hampshire Wins 2015 NE-10 Men’s Golf Championship


October 5, 2015

Penmen Down Dolphins in Playoff; Clare Takes Individual Crown


ENDICOTT, N.Y. – Southern New Hampshire defeated Le Moyne in a one-hole playoff to win the 2015 Northeast-10 Men's Golf Championship at En-Joie Golf Club on Monday. Le Moyne's John Clare earned medalist honors as the top individual finisher at the two-day tournament.

Both the Penmen and Dolphins were knotted up at the top of the leaderboard after the second round with identical team scores of 581. Southern New Hampshire's Jake Nutter sank a crucial birdie in the playoff to help give the Penmen the victory.

Gavin Dugas led the Penmen, finishing in a tie for third in the individual standings. Dugas earned NE-10 Rookie of the Year honors after posting a four-under 68 during the final round on the Par-72 course for a two-day total of 142 (-2). Nutter, Josh Lacasse and John Clancy also finished in the top-10 to pace Southern New Hampshire.

Clare claimed medalist honors for Le Moyne after shooting a four-under 140 for the tournament. Tied for the lead with a 70 after Round 1, Clare posted the same score on day two to win the individual crown by one stroke. Aidan Fuller gave the Dolphins a second top-5 finisher by posting an even-par 144.


Bentley, last year's NE-10 champion, finished three strokes behind So. New Hampshire and Le Moyne in third place with a team score of 584. The Falcons were led by Brett Chatfield, who finished second individually with a three-under 141, while Malcolm Oliver took fourth with a 143.

Saint Rose came in fourth with a 599 team score, followed by Assumption (5th – 624) and Franklin Pierce (6th – 626). Rounding out the rest of the field were Saint Anselm (7th – 636), American International (8th – 645), Adelphi (9th – 654) and Saint Michael's (10th – 656).

Individual Champion: John Clare, Le Moyne
Rookie of the Year: Gavin Dugas, So. New Hampshire
Coach of the Year: Matt Arvanitis, So. New Hampshire 

2015 Northeast-10 First Team All-Conference
1. John Clare, Le Moyne – 140
2. Brett Chatfield, Bentley – 141
3. Gavin Dugas, So. New Hampshire – 142
4. Malcolm Oliver, Bentley – 143
5. Aidan Fuller, Le Moyne – 144 

2015 Northeast-10 Second Team All-Conference
t-6. Josh Lacasse, So. New Hampshire – 145
t-6. Joe Petrin, Le Moyne – 145
8. John Clancy, So. New Hampshire – 146
t-9. Jake Nutter, So. New Hampshire – 148
t-9. Travis Landry, Franklin Pierce – 148
t-9. Michael Pilkington, Saint Rose – 148 

The Northeast-10 Conference is an association of 15 NCAA Division II colleges and universities located in New England and New York that is committed to supporting balanced academic and athletic opportunities for more than 6,500 student-athletes. 

Each year, 4,500 of those student-athletes compete in conference championships in 24 sports, making the NE-10 the largest DII conference in the country in terms of sport sponsorship. Leading the way in the classroom, on the field and within the community, the Northeast-10 is proud of its comprehensive program and the experience it provides student-athletes.