NE-10 Gears Up for Third Annual Women’s Golf Championship

NE-10 Gears Up for Third Annual Women’s Golf Championship


September 23, 2016

Franklin Pierce Takes Top Spot in Pre-Championship Coaches' Poll


MANSFIELD, Mass. – The third annual NE-10 Women's Golf Championship is set to begin on Sunday, Sept. 25 and will run through Monday, Sept. 26. The event will take place at Bretwood Golf Course in Keene, N.H., and will be hosted by Franklin Pierce University. Prior to the championship, Franklin Pierce was voted as the favorite to win its first women's golf title by the league's head coaches.

For complete results of the NE-10 Coaches' Poll, please see below.

Franklin Pierce, which finished second at the championship last season, garnered 35 points and five first-place votes in the poll. Leading the way for the Ravens will be Camden Morrison, who finished third at both of the first two championships. Morrison has medaled in both of the Ravens' first two tournaments this season.

Two-time defending champion Merrimack came in at No. 2 with 31 points and one first-place nod. The Warriors won the first two conference championships by an average of 41 strokes, including a 51-stroke differential last fall. Merrimack returns reigning NE-10 individual champion Alessandra Ricigliano, as well as former champion Jessica Wagner and last year's runner-up Krystal Knight.

Le Moyne was tabbed third with 27 points and picked up the final first-place vote. Rounding out the rest of the seven-team field were Adelphi (4th – 18 pts.), Saint Rose (5th – 16), Assumption (6th – 12) and Southern New Hampshire (7th – 8).

The tournament will begin with a shotgun start at 1 p.m. on Sunday. Follow @TheNortheast10 on Twitter for updates throughout the 2016 NE-10 Women's Golf Championship. Live results will be made available prior to Sunday's commencement.

2016 NE-10 Women's Golf Pre-Championship Coaches' Poll
1. Franklin Pierce – 35 Pts. (5)
2. Merrimack – 31 (1)
3. Le Moyne – 27 (1)
4. Adelphi – 18
5. Saint Rose – 16
6. Assumption – 12
7. So. New Hampshire – 8 

(#) - indicates first-place votes 

The Northeast-10 Conference is an association of 15 NCAA Division II colleges and universities located in New England and New York that is committed to supporting balanced academic and athletic opportunities for more than 6,500 student-athletes. 

Each year, 4,500 of those student-athletes compete in conference championships in 24 sports, making the NE-10 the largest DII conference in the country in terms of sport sponsorship. Leading the way in the classroom, on the field and within the community, the Northeast-10 is proud of its comprehensive program and the experience it provides student-athletes.