Bentley's Cal Meyers, Franklin Pierce's Camden Morrison Honored as Golfers of the Year as League Announces Annual Awards

Bentley's Cal Meyers, Franklin Pierce's Camden Morrison Honored as Golfers of the Year as League Announces Annual Awards



Morrison Caps Her Career as Two-Time NE10 Player of the Year

MANSFIELD, Mass. - Bentley's Cal Meyers and Franklin Pierce's Camden Morrison were selected by the league's coaches as the Northeast-10 Conference Men's and Women's Players of the Year, as the leage annouced it's annual awards today. It's the second strraight season that Morrison has been recognized as she was the NE10 Player of the Year during the 2016-17 season as well.

For the complete list of awards and all-conference teams, please see below. Four student-athletes on both the men's and women's side repeated as First Team All-Conference selections, including both Meyers and Morrison.

Both Meyers and Morrison helped lead their teams to the NE10 title this past season. Morrison capped off her career with a 19th-place overall finish at the NCAA Championship tournament last month in Houston.

Franklin Pierce's Dylan Plis was named the NE10 Men's Rookie of the Year, while Southern New Hampshire's Makyla Lewellen was named the winner on the women's side. Plis helped lead the Ravens to the best season in program history, as they finished 19th in the nation at the National Championship event in Alabama in May. Plis led the Ravens as he shot a 225 over the three-day event.

Lewellen was named NE10 Rookie of the Week four times during the regular season and was one of the Penmen's top golfers all season long. Both Plis, First Team, and Lewellen, Second Team, were named NE10 All-Conference selections as well.

Franklin Pierce's Tyler Bishop was honored by his peers as the Coach of the Year on both the men's and women's side. It's the second consecutive season he's earned NE10 Women's Coach of the Year honors.

Bishop helped lead both Ravens squads to the NCAA Tournament this past spring, with the men's team posting their best finish in program history. Bishop led the Franklin Pierce's women's team to an NE10 title this fall, and earned the program's first-ever NCAA Tournament bid in the process. He also helped tutor two-time NE10 Player of the Year, Camden Morrison, as well as five other student-athletes that were named All-Conference selections.


2017-18 NE10 Men's Golf All-Conference
First Team
Cal Meyers, Bentley*
Dylan Plis, Franklin Pierce
Jon Petrin, Le Moyne*
Stephen Hunt, Saint Anselm*
Matt Paradis, Southern New Hampshire*

Second Team
Tommy Ethier, Bentley
Chris Simione, Bentley
Keeton Foster, Franklin Pierce^
Danny Thomas, Le Moyne
Sam Riemer, Southern New Hampshire

2017-18 NE10 Women's Golf All-Conference
First Team
Camden Morrison, Franklin Pierce*
Zoey Yamamoto, Franklin Pierce*
Bianca Cruz, Le Moyne^
Kystal Knight, Merrimack*
Alessandra Ricigliano, Merrimack*

Second Team
Taylor Schmidt, Franklin Pierce
Sarah Daley, Franklin Pierce
Lauren Kase, Le Moyne^
Jessica Wagner, Merrimack*
Makyla Lewellen, Southern New Hampshire 
* - First Team Selection in 2017
^ - Second Team Selections in 2017

The NE10 is an association of 15 diverse institutions serving student-athletes across 24 NCAA Division II sports. Together we build brilliant futures by embracing the journey of every student-athlete. 

Each year, 4,500 student-athletes compete in conference championships, making the NE10 the largest DII conference in the country in terms of sport sponsorship. Leading the way in the classroom, on the field and within the community, the NE10 is proud of its comprehensive program and the experience it provides student-athletes.