Embrace the Championship: Assumption Captures First-Ever NE10 Men's Golf Title

Assumption men's golf wins NE10 title


Greyhounds Take Home NE10 Men's Golf Title.

ENDICOTT, N.Y. – The Assumption men's golf team was crowned Northeast-10 Conference Champions on Monday morning at the En-Joie Golf Club – as the second round of action was cancelled due to persistent rain and poor course conditions.

By league rule, the tournament was shortened due to the inclement weather and the Greyhounds – after leading by one stroke following Sunday's first round – took home the program's first-ever NE10 Men's Golf title.

Prior to this weekend, Assumption's best all-time finishes at the NE10 Men's Golf Championship were runners-up in both 1986 and 2007.

Assumption shot +4 (292) as a team on Sunday, besting runner-up Southern New Hampshire (+5) and third-place finisher Le Moyne (+6) by the narrowest of margins. Junior Andrew Sanzaro led the Greyhounds with a one-under 71 on Sunday, while teammate Mark Bryant was close behind with an even-par 72.

There was another first at the NE10 Men's Golf Championship, as Matt Johnson became the first-ever golfer from Saint Michael's to win the Gordon McCullough Memorial Award – which honors the individual medalist from the championship. Johnson shot a remarkable four-under 68 on Sunday, just two strokes back of the NE10 record for an individual round.

Johnson's teammate, Brendan Locke, finished with a two-under 70 – runner-up on the individual leaderboard. Sanzaro was tied for third with Le Moyne's Nicholas Bove and Southern New Hampshire's Garrett Olivar – rounding-out the All-Championship Team.

Additionally, Le Moyne's Nicholas Barney won the first Elite 24 Award of the 2019-20 athletic season, after posting an incredible 3.99 GPA as a physics major. The Elite 24 honors the student-athlete with the highest cumulative GPA at the finals site of each NE10 Championship.


Matt Johnson, Saint Michael's


Matt Johnson, Saint Michael's
Brendan Locke, Saint Michael's
Andrew Sanzaro, Assumption
Nicholas Bove, Le Moyne
Garrett Olivar, Southern New Hampshire

The NE10 is an association of 14 diverse institutions serving student-athletes across 24 NCAA Division II sports. Together we build brilliant futures by embracing the journey of every student-athlete.

Each year, 4,500 of those student-athletes compete in conference championships in 24 sports, making the NE10 the largest DII conference in the country in terms of sport sponsorship. Leading the way in the classroom, on the field and within the community, the NE10 is proud of its comprehensive program and the experience it provides student-athletes.