Saint Anselm's Tim Guers Named NE10 Player of the Year as League Announces Men's Basketball Honors

Saint Anselm's Tim Guers Named NE10 Player of the Year as League Announces Men's Basketball Honors



NE10 All-Conference Teams, Award Winners Announced

MANSFIELD, Mass. – Saint Anselm junior guard Tim Guers has been named the 2017-18 Northeast-10 Conference Player of the Year, it was announced on Monday morning as the conference office unveiled its men's basketball all-conference teams and major award winners.

Ten different NE10 members had at least one student-athlete recognized as an All-Conference selection, with Le Moyne leading the way with four. Saint Anselm had three selections, while Saint Rose, Southern Connecticut, Southern New Hampshire, and Stonehill each had two. For a complete list of all-conference members, all-rookie selections and individual award winners, as voted upon by the league's head coaches, please see below.

Guers helped lead the Hawks to the Northeast Division Regular Season title as the team is currently 21-7 overall, and finished 15-6 in conference play. The former NE10 Rookie of the Year is currently among the conference's leaders in a number of statistical categories. He's fourth in the NE10 in points (21.8) and rebounds per game (7.5), and is fifth in the conference with 5.3 assists per game. The sharp-shooting junior was a four-time NE10 Player of the Week selection and has scored in double figures in 27 of the team's 28 games so far this year. He was also named a First Team All-Conference selection for the second-straight season.

Guers was joined on the NE10 All-Conference First Team by Bentley's Ryan Richmond, Merrimack's Juvaris Hayes, New Haven's Danny Upchurch, Saint Rose's Julian Lipinski, and Southern New Hampshire's Chris Walters. Both Guers and Walters were First Team selections a year ago.

Southern Connecticut's Ulyen Coleman was selected as the NE10 Rookie of the Year by the league's head coaches. The Massachusetts product averaged 13 points and five rebounds per game during his first year in the league, helping the Owls to the NE10 Quarterfinals. Coleman, who was recognized as the conference Rookie of the Week three times during the season, proved to be one of the best long-range shooters in the league, knocking down 62 three-pointers during the season and shooting it at a 42% clip form beyond the arc. He was also named to the NE10's All-Rookie Team.

Le Moyne's Russell Sangster was once again honored as the NE10 Defensive Player of the Year. The senior, who was recognized with the honor for the second-consecutive season, helped lead the Dolphins to their second straight Southwest Division title, and a 22-6 record overall. Sangster lead a defensive unit that currently leads the NE10 in fewest points per game allowed, as well as opponents field goal percentage. The Dolphins are also currently second-best in opponents three-point percentage.

The Maryland native has 24 steals on the season, and is averaging 11 points per game and four rebounds per contest and was also named a Second Team selection.

Sangster's coach, Patrick Beilein, was selected as the NE10 Coach of the Year by his peers after guiding the Dolphins to the Southwest Division crown. It's also the second-straight year that Beilein has been recognized with the honor. Beilein's Dolphins are currently 22-6 overall and finished their NE10 regular season with a mark of 18-2 in league play. Four of Beilein's student-athletes were honored as All-Conference selections, including Sangster.

Le Moyne will host Merrimack in one NE10 Semifinal Wednesday night. Barring something unforseen occurring, Le Moyne will once again host this year's NCAA East Regionals when play begins Saturday, March 10.

Player of the Year: Tim Guers, Saint Anselm
Rookie of the Year: Ulyen Coleman, Southern Connecticut
Defensive Player of the Year: Russell Sangster, Le Moyne^
Coach of the Year: Patrick Beilein, Le Moyne^

^ indicates repeat winner

2018 NE10 Men's Basketball All-Conference
First Team
Ryan Richmond, Bentley$
Juvaris Hayes, Merrimack$>
Danny Upchurch, New Haven
Tim Guers, Saint Anselm*
Julian Lipinski, Saint Rose
Chris Walters, Southern New Hampshire*

Second Team
Isaiah Eisendorf, Le Moyne
Russell Sangster, Le Moyne$
Levi Holmes III, Saint Michael's
Isaiah McLeod, Southern Connecticut
Will Moreton, Stonehill>

Third Team
Mike McDevitt, Franklin Pierce#
Cody Ball, Saint Anselm
Mical-Ryan Boyd, Saint Rose#
Jerry Luckett, Jr., Southern Connecticut@ 
Daquaise Andrews, Southern New Hampshire

Honorable Mention
Michael Coffey, Adelphi
Robert Jones III, Le Moyne
Tyquan Rolon, Le Moyne
Taylor Fortin, Saint Anselm
Brandon Twitty, Stonehill

All-Rookie Team
Matthew Kelly, Assumption
Jordan Mello-Klein, Bentley
Derrick Rowland, New Haven
Chris Paul, Saint Anselm
Ulyen Coleman, Southern Connecticut

* - First Team selection in 2017
$ - Second Team selection in 2017
@ - Third Team selection in 2017
# - Honorable Mention selection in 2017
> - All-Rookie selection in 2017

The NE10 is an association of 15 diverse institutions serving student-athletes across 24 NCAA Division II sports. Together we build brilliant futures by embracing the journey of every student-athlete.

Each year, 4,500 of those student-athletes compete in conference championships in 24 sports, making the NE10 the largest DII conference in the country in terms of sport sponsorship. Leading the way in the classroom, on the field and within the community, the NE10 is proud of its comprehensive program and the experience it provides student-athletes.