Assumption’s Brandon Bete Named NE-10 Player of the Year; Ice Hockey All-Conference Teams, Awards Announced

Assumption’s Brandon Bete Named NE-10 Player of the Year; Ice Hockey All-Conference Teams, Awards Announced


February 19, 2016

NE-10 Announces Ice Hockey All-Conference Teams, Award Winners

MANSFIELD, Mass. – Assumption’s Brandon Bete has been named the Northeast-10 Player of the Year, it was announced on Friday as the league revealed its all-conference ice hockey teams and major award winners for the 2015-16 season.

For a complete list of all-conference members and award winners, as voted upon by the league's head coaches, please see below.

Bete, who earned an all-conference nod for the second straight season, led the NE-10 in points (34) and goals (23) this season while adding 11 assists for the Greyhounds. The senior Greenfield, Mass., native was also tops in the league in power play points (12) and power play goals (10), while he tied for the league lead with three game-winners.

Saint Anselm’s Peter Sikalis was selected as the conference’s Defender of the Year, while teammate Shane Joyce was selected as the Goaltender of the Year. Sikalis was the top-scoring defenseman in the NE-10 this season, collecting 17 points on six goals and 11 assists. Joyce led the NE-10 with a 2.39 goals against average while tying for the league lead with nine wins. Sikalis and Joyce led the league’s top defense and penalty kill, which allowed just 2.56 goals per game and killed 83.1 percent of its penalties on the season.

Joining Bete, Sikalis and Joyce on the all-conference first team were Saint Anselm’s Mark Meads and Bryan Sullivan, as well as Saint Michael’s Danny Divis and Stonehill’s Garrett White. Bete, Meads and Sikalis were all unanimous selections to the first team.

Stonehill’s William Palmer was honored as the NE-10 Rookie of the Year after a stellar rookie season in goal for the Skyhawks. Palmer, a second team all-conference choice as well, had the highest winning percentage (.618) among NE-10 goalies this season and tied with Joyce for the most wins with nine. He also was second in the league in both goals against average (2.74) and save percentage (.922).

Assumption’s Lance Brady was recognized by his peers as the Northeast-10 Coach of the Year after leading the Hounds into the NE-10 Championship field. Assumption led the conference in scoring this season with 84 goals in 24 games for an average of 3.5 per contest. Brady’s squad was also the top power play team in the NE-10 this season, scoring on 20 percent of its power play opportunities.

Saint Anselm had the most student-athletes honored with seven in total, including four all-conference first-teamers.

2016 Northeast-10 Ice Hockey All-Conference
First Team
Brandon Bete, F, Assumption * %
Shane Joyce, G, Saint Anselm %
Mark Meads, F, Saint Anselm *
Peter Sikalis, D, Saint Anselm *
Bryan Sullivan, F, Saint Anselm
Danny Divis, D, Saint Michael’s #
Garrett White, F, Stonehill 

Second Team
Ryan Gomez, F, Assumption
Tyler Estee, D, Saint Anselm ^
Kevin Altidor, F, Saint Michael’s
Thomas DePoalo, F, Stonehill
William Palmer, G, Stonehill
Brendan White, D, Stonehill 

All-Rookie Team
Dante Tomassini, Assumption
Jeremy Carignan, Saint Anselm
Bryan Green, Saint Anselm
Sam D’Antuono, Saint Michael’s
Artem Efimov-Barakov, So. New Hampshire
William Palmer, Stonehill 

* - Unanimous Selection
^ - First Team Selection in 2015
% - Second Team Selection in 2015
# - First Team Selection in 2014 

Player of the Year: Brandon Bete, Assumption
Defender of the Year: Peter Sikalis, Saint Anselm
Goaltender of the Year: Shane Joyce, Saint Anselm
Rookie of the Year: William Palmer, Stonehill
Coach of the Year: Lance Brady, Assumption 

The Northeast-10 Conference is an association of 15 NCAA Division II colleges and universities located in New England and New York that is committed to supporting balanced academic and athletic opportunities for more than 6,500 student-athletes. 

Each year, 4,500 of those student-athletes compete in conference championships in 24 sports, making the NE-10 the largest DII conference in the country in terms of sport sponsorship. Leading the way in the classroom, on the field and within the community, the Northeast-10 is proud of its comprehensive program and the experience it provides student-athletes.