SNHU's Joe Collins Named NE10 Player of the Year; Ice Hockey All-Conference Teams, Awards Announced

SNHU's Joe Collins Named NE10 Player of the Year; Ice Hockey All-Conference Teams, Awards Announced



NE10 Announces Ice Hockey All-Conference Teams, Award Winners

MANSFIELD, Mass. – Southern New Hampshire's Joe Collins has been named the Northeast-10 Conference Player of the Year, it was announced on Friday as the league revealed its all-conference ice hockey teams and major award winners for the 2016-17 season.

For a complete list of all-conference members and award winners, as voted upon by the league's head coaches, please see below.

Collins led the NE10 in scoring by 11 points, as he accounted for 34 total points on the season.  His 23 assists were eight more than the student-athlete that finished second, while his four game-winning goals was also tops in the league. He added 11 goals (4th-best in the NE10) and his 13 power-play points were tied for second in the conference.

It's the second time in his career he's been recognized as the conference's top player and he was also named to the NE10 Conference First Team for the third time in his storied career.

Saint Anselm's Peter Sikalis was selected as the conference's Defender of the Year for the second consecutive season, while teammate Trey Aiello was selected as the Rookie of the Year. Their head coach, Ed Seney, was named Coach of the Year as the Hawks posted a 4-1 mark in NE10 play, and earned the top seed in the upcoming NE10 Championship which begins tomorrow with Semifinal Round action.

Sikalis was one of the top-scoring defenseman in the NE10 this season, collecting 16 points on nine goals and seven assists. His play helped Saint Anselm to the top seed in the upcoming NE10 Championship as he led a defense that only allowed seven goals in five conference games. He was also a unanimous choice for the NE10 First Team.

Aiello made an immediate impact for the regular season co-champion Hawks as the high-scoring freshman forward accounted for 13 points. His 10 goals were tied for the fifth-most in the league and were the most for Saint Anselm during the regular season.

Franklin Pierce's Tom McGuckin was tabbed the league's Goaltender of the Year and stood tall throughout a tough campaign for the Ravens. The junior netminder posted a 3.15 goals against average, which was second-best in the NE10. His .911 save percentage was also among the conference's top marks. He was also named a First Team All-Conference selection.

Saint Anselm head coach Ed Seney was tabbed coach of the year by his peers for the third time in his career. Seney led the Hawks to a 4-1 mark in league play, and they have earned the top seed in the NE10 Championship. He'll be looking to head the team to their 8th title under his direction. During the season, Seney recorded his 200th win as the Saint Anselm leader, and he is one of the winningest coaches in the country having 371 career victories overall.

Joining Collins, Sikalis and McGuckin on the all-conference first team were a trio of Saint Michael's student-athletes: Sam D'Antuono, Danny Divis, and Eric Salzillo

Saint Anselm had the most student-athletes honored with five total, including four all-conference selections. Saint Michael's had four recognized.

Player of the Year: Joe Collins, Southern New Hampshire
Defender of the Year: Peter Sikalis, Saint Anselm
Goaltender of the Year: Tom McGuckin, Franklin Pierce
Rookie of the Year: Trey Aiello, Saint Anselm
Coach of the Year: Ed Seney, Saint Anselm

2017 NE10 Ice Hockey All-Conference
First Team
Sam D'Antuono, F, Saint Michael's$ 
Eric Salzillo, F, Saint Michael's  
Joe Collins, F, SNHU#@
Peter Sikalis, D, Saint Anselm*^
Danny Divis, D Saint Michael's#^
Tom McGuckin, G, Franklin Pierce

Second Team
Jonathan Haun, F, Franklin Pierce
Jeremy Carignan, F, Saint Anselm$
Brendon Kerrigan, F, Saint Anselm
Matt Cowles, D, Assumption 
Alex Schleper, D, Franklin Pierce
Shane Joyce, G, Saint Anselm%^

All-Rookie Team
Matthew Toombs, Franklin Pierce
Trey Aiello, Saint Anselm
Dave Almeida, Saint Anselm
Will Santangeli, Saint Michael's
Jared Goudreau, So. New Hampshire
Conor Cassidy, Stonehill 

* - Unanimous Selection
^ - First Team Selection in 2016
$ - All-Rookie Team Selection in 2016 
@ - First Team Selection in 2015
% - Second Team Selection in 2015
# - First Team Selection in 2014 

The NE10 is an association of 15 diverse institutions serving student-athletes across 24 NCAA Division II sports. Together we build brilliant futures by embracing the journey of every student-athlete. 

Each year, 4,500 student-athletes compete in conference championships, making the NE10 the largest DII conference in the country in terms of sport sponsorship. Leading the way in the classroom, on the field and within the community, the NE10 is proud of its comprehensive program and the experience it provides student-athletes.