Assumption's Cam Laughlin Named NE10 Player of the Year as League Announces Major Awards, All-Conference Teams

Assumption's Cam Laughlin Named NE10 Player of the Year as League Announces Major Awards, All-Conference Teams



Hawks, Hounds Sweep 2017-18 NE10 Ice Hockey Major Awards

MANSFIELD, Mass. – Assumption's Cam Laughlin has been named the Northeast-10 Conference Player of the Year, it was announced on Friday as the league revealed its all-conference ice hockey teams and major award winners for the 2017-18 season. Laughlin was one of three major award winners from Assumption, while regular season champion, Saint Anselm, claimed two. 

Saint Anselm had three first team selections, the most of any team in the league, while Assumption and Saint Michael's also had three student-athletes that were all-conference honorees. For a complete list of all-conference members and award winners, as voted upon by the league's head coaches, please see below.

Laughlin has had an outstanding offensive season for the Hounds as he was among the conference's leaders in virtually every statistical category. The senior leads the NE10 in points (32), short-handed goals (2), and game-winning tallies (4). He finished the regular season second in the league in goals with 17, while his 15 assists was tied for fourth-best. His +18 on the season is also currently second-best among all NE10 student-athletes.

Laughlin helped lead Assumption to a 15-9-2 mark overall, including a record of 8-6-1 in conference play which earned the team the three seed in the upcoming conference championship. He was also named a First Team All-Conference selection.

Laughlin's teammate, Dante Tomassini, was honored as the 2017-18 NE10 Defensive Player of the Year. Tomassini not only led a defense that was among the best in the conference this winter, he also was a valuable part of the Hounds offense as well. The senior has contributed 16 assists so far this season, the second-most in the league this season. Tomassini was also named a First Team All-Conference selection by the league's head coaches for his play.

Saint Anselm's Colin Soucy was recognized as the NE10 Goalkeeper of the Year. Soucy appeared in 13 games between the pipes for the regular season champions and posted seven wins, second-most in the conference on the season. His 2.35 goals against average is currently third-best in the NE10, while his 29 goals allowed on the season ranks fourth. Soucy was also named to the conference's First Team for his efforts this season.

Alec Andreucci, another memeber of the regular season champions from Saint Anselm, was selected as the 2017-18 Rookie of the Year. In his first year on the Hilltop, Andreucci made an immediate impact for the Hawks. The three-time NE10 Rookie of the Week registered 24 points during the regular season on the strength of nine goals and 15 assists. His 15 helpers was the fourth-most in the league. Andreucci was also named to the conference's All-Rookie Team.

Assumption's Lance Brady was selected by his peers as the NE10 Coach of the Year. Brady, currently in the midst of his tenth season as the Hounds head man, was recognized with the award for the fourth time during his career. He led the team to eight conference wins and the three seed in the conference championship. Assumption will take on Saint Michael's in one semifinal matchup Saturday night. He also had three of his student-athletes named All-Conference selections, including the NE10 Player and Defensive Player of the Year. 

Player of the Year - Cam Laughlin, Assumption
Defensive Player of the Year - Dante Tomassini, Assumption
Goalkeeper of the Year - Colin Soucy, Saint Anselm
Rookie of the Year - Alec Andreucci, Saint Anselm 
Coach of the Year - Lance Brady, Assumption

2018 NE10 Ice Hockey First Team
Cam Laughlin, Assumption, F
Dante Tomassini, Assumption, D
Michael Ferraro, Saint Anselm, F
Nicholas Gorski, Saint Anselm, D
Colin Soucy, Saint Anselm, G
Jack Ouellette, Saint Michael's, D
Chris Moquin, Southern New Hampshire, F 

2018 NE10 Ice Hockey Second Team 
Tommy Mahoney, Assumption, F
Tom McGuckin, Franklin Pierce, G
Eric Salzillo, Saint Michael's, F
Sam D'Antuono, Saint Michael's, F
Matt McLelland, Southern New Hampshire, D
Sean Conley, Stonehill, D 

2018 NE10 Ice Hockey All-Rookie Team
JT Chamberlain, Assumption, F
Alec Andreucci, Saint Anselm, F
Paul McAuliffe, Saint Michael's, F
Zach Ciampia, Southern New Hampshire, D
Kyle Galloway, Southern New Hampshire, F
Max Kent, Southern New Hampshire, D
Sean Conley, Stonehill, D

The NE10 is an association of 15 diverse institutions serving student-athletes across 24 NCAA Division II sports. Together we build brilliant futures by embracing the journey of every student-athlete. 

Each year, 4,500 student-athletes compete in conference championships, making the NE10 the largest DII conference in the country in terms of sport sponsorship. Leading the way in the classroom, on the field and within the community, the NE10 is proud of its comprehensive program and the experience it provides student-athletes.