Embrace The Championship: Saint Anselm, Saint Michael's to Meet in NE10 Ice Hockey Championship

Embrace The Championship: Saint Anselm, Saint Michael's to Meet in NE10 Ice Hockey Championship



Top Two Seeds to Meet in NE10 Championship Final

Saint Anselm and Saint Michael's advanced to the Northeast-10 Conference Championship Final with wins earlier. Here's how the Semifinal Round played out tonight -

#1 Saint Anselm 3, #4 Southern New Hampshire 1 | BOXSCORE

MANCHESTER, N.H. – Senior Jon Pallotta and sophomore Mike Ferraro each recorded a goal and an assist to help Saint Anselm advance to the title game of the Northeast-10 Conference Championship after a 3-1 victory over Southern New Hampshire on Saturday evening at Sullivan Arena.

A first-period goal from junior Bryan Green and one from Ferraro just 14 seconds into the third put Saint Anselm (16-9-1) in control, but Southern New Hampshire (12-9-3) fought back to get within a goal midway through the final period. Pallotta scored less than three minutes later, however, to give the Hawks a two-goal lead they would hold onto.

With the win, the Hawks advanced to their 16th NE10 title game after defeating the Penmen for the fourth time this season and the third time in the last nine games. Saint Anselm owns a league-high nine NE10 Tournament championships.

Newly-minted NE10 Goaltender of the Year Colin Soucy won his sixth-straight start with a 28-save effort in net for Saint Anselm to run his record to 8-4-1 on the season.


#2 Saint Michael's 6, #3 Assumption 5 | BOXSCORE

SOUTH BURLINGTON, Vt. - Junior Sam D'Antuono, pictured, scored his second goal 10:01 into overtime to send second-seeded Saint Michael's past No. 3 Assumption, 6-5, during a Northeast-10 Conference Championship semifinal on Saturday in Cairns Arena.  

D'Antuono's tally helped the Purple Knights, now 15-9-2, finish off a comeback from down two goals in the third period. D'Antuono added an assist and a 20-for-39 showing on faceoffs, first-year defenseman Andrew Olevitz turned in a goal and an assist, while senior Eric Salzillo had a goal and 14 faceoff victories. Sophomore John Barry and first-year Thomas Flack also scored, while junior Nic Hermary dished off two assists.

Sophomore Tim Decker made 22 saves on 24 shots during the final 49:58 to pick up the win in relief, while junior Chris Johnson recorded 10 stops.  

Senior Cam Laughlin, who was named the NE10 Player of the Year Friday, paced Assumption with a hat trick and an assist, junior Peter McDonagh added a goal and two helpers, while senior Tommy Mahoney also scored. Sophomore David Zulauf made 59 saves.

- Information for this release provided by the athletic communications staffs at Saint Anselm and Saint Michael's

The NE10 is an association of 15 diverse institutions serving student-athletes across 24 NCAA Division II sports. Together we build brilliant futures by embracing the journey of every student-athlete.

Each year, 4,500 of those student-athletes compete in conference championships in 24 sports, making the NE10 the largest DII conference in the country in terms of sport sponsorship. Leading the way in the classroom, on the field and within the community, the NE10 is proud of its comprehensive program and the experience it provides student-athletes.