Tuttle Collects Second Player of the Year Honor; NE-10 Men’s Lacrosse All-Conference Teams, Awards Released

Tuttle Collects Second Player of the Year Honor; NE-10 Men’s Lacrosse All-Conference Teams, Awards Released


May 4, 2016

Adelphi's Tuttle, Le Moyne's Krawec Headline NE-10 Major Award Winners

MANSFIELD, Mass. – For the second time in his career, Adelphi senior Sal Tuttle was named the Northeast-10 Player of the Year, it was revealed on Wednesday as the league office shared its men's lacrosse all-conference teams and major award winners for the 2016 season.

For a complete list of all-conference members and award winners, as voted upon by the league's head coaches, please see below.

Tuttle claims his third NE-10 major award after earning Player of the Year in 2014 and Rookie of the Year in 2013. This season, Tuttle led the NE-10 in all three major offensive categories – goals, assists and points. He currently has 57 goals, 37 helpers and 94 points, ranking in the top 10 in the nation in all three categories. The Farmingdale, N.Y., native, who earned his third straight first team all-conference nod, led the nationally-ranked Panthers to the No. 3 seed in the NE-10 Championship while registering a point in every contest this season.

Le Moyne's Alex Krawec was selected as the NE-10 Goalkeeper of the Year for the second season in a row after a fantastic campaign for the NE-10 Regular Season Champion Dolphins. Krawec, a first team all-conference choice for the second straight year, not only led the NE-10, but was the national leader in both goals-against average (4.67) and save percentage (.707) during the regular season. He's also second in the conference with 147 saves, giving up just 61 goals, while going 15-0 between the pipes to anchor the Dolphins' perfect regular season.

Merrimack's Scott Corcoran was recognized as the league's Defensive Player of the Year after a strong senior season for the Warriors. Corcoran wrapped up the regular season second in the conference with 30 caused turnovers to go along with 61 ground balls. Earning his second straight first team all-conference nod, he added eight goals and four assists for 12 points while shooting 53.3 percent on the year, helping the Warriors to a 13-1 overall record and the No. 2 seed in the NE-10 Championship.

Gordon Purdie, Jr., of Adelphi was honored as the NE-10 Rookie of the Year after a stellar freshman season at attack for the Panthers. Purdie ranks in the top 10 in the league in goals with 35 to go along with 15 assists for a total of 50 points while shooting an efficient 46.7 percent with 69.3 percent of his shots going on goal. He scored at least one goal in every game for the Panthers this season, making an immediate impact in his first year.

Southern New Hampshire's Paul Calkins was acknowledged by his peers as the league's Coach of the Year. Calkins led the Penmen to the No. 4 seed in the NE-10 Championship, hosting a first round game for the first time in program history after his team went 7-4 in conference play this season. The Penmen won eight straight games from March 30 through April 26.

Le Moyne had the most first-team selections with five, while Merrimack had four and Adelphi had three. Merrimack had the most overall student-athletes recognized with nine, followed by Le Moyne with eight, while Adelphi and Pace each had six honorees.

2016 Northeast-10 Men's Lacrosse All-Conference
First Team
A – Sal Tuttle, Adelphi *%
A – Logan Thomas, Le Moyne
A – Max Allen, Merrimack *
A – Cameron Joyce, Southern New Hampshire ^
M – Brian Rogers, Le Moyne *
M – Matt Taylor, Le Moyne ^
M – Ryan Poirier, Merrimack
M – Matt Cossidente, Pace
D – Joe Catalanotti, Adelphi ^
D – Brendan Entenmann, Le Moyne
D – Brennen Morin, Merrimack
D – Brandon Donnellan, Pace ^
LSM – Scott Corcoran, Merrimack *
SP – John English, Adelphi *
SP – Max Adler, Bentley
GK – Alex Krawec, Le Moyne * 

Second Team
A – Mike Jenkins, Le Moyne %
A – John Bassett, Merrimack
A – Liam Brennan, Pace
M – Anthony Gomes, Adelphi
M – Jack Trask, Merrimack
M – Mark Vitello, Saint Anselm
D – Joe Giardina, Adelphi
D – Eric Chadderdon, Le Moyne ^
D – Tommy McLaughlin, Merrimack *
D – Will Thompson, Southern New Hampshire
LSM – Jeremy Wiley, Pace
SP – Brad Chapdelaine, Franklin Pierce
SP – Blake Boudreau, Merrimack
GK – Bobby Beshlian, Pace 

* - First Team All-Conference in 2015
^ - Second Team All-Conference in 2015
% - All-Conference in 2014 

All-Rookie Team
Gordon Purdie, Jr., Adelphi
Lucas Bombardier, American International
Travis Reid, Assumption
Alex Astarita, Bentley
Jake Castorf, Franklin Pierce
Andrew French, Le Moyne
Michael O'Connell, Merrimack
Brad Paterson, Pace
Patrick Sweeney, Saint Anselm
Matt Cotter, Saint Michael's
Jordan Fredericks, Saint Rose
Sal Lo Medico, Southern New Hampshire

Player of the Year: Sal Tuttle, Adelphi
Defensive Player of the Year: Scott Corcoran, Merrimack
Goalkeeper of the Year: Alex Krawec, Le Moyne
Rookie of the Year: Gordon Purdie, Jr., Adelphi
Coach of the Year: Paul Calkins, Southern New Hampshire 

The Northeast-10 Conference is an association of 15 NCAA Division II colleges and universities located in New England and New York that is committed to supporting balanced academic and athletic opportunities for more than 6,500 student-athletes. 

Each year, 4,500 of those student-athletes compete in conference championships in 24 sports, making the NE-10 the largest DII conference in the country in terms of sport sponsorship. Leading the way in the classroom, on the field and within the community, the Northeast-10 is proud of its comprehensive program and the experience it provides student-athletes.