Lucky #13: Dolphins Defense Impresses in Le Moyne's 13th NE10 Men's Lacrosse Championship

Lucky #13: Dolphins Defense Impresses in Le Moyne's 13th NE10 Men's Lacrosse Championship



Sweeney Impressive in Net, Named MVP for the 'Phins

GARDEN CITY, N.Y. – Championships Most Valuable Player Jack Sweeney made 12 saves to lead fourth-ranked and second-seeded Le Moyne to its 13th Northeast-10 Conference Championship with a 7-2 victory over third-ranked and top-seeded Adelphi on Sunday afternoon at Motamed Field.

The Dolphins, who have won back-to-back conference championships for the eighth time, improve to 13-4 all-time in the conference title game. 

The two goals allowed by the Dolphins are tied for the fewest in NE10 Championship game history (23 games). The Dolphins also held Merrimack to two goals in the 2009 title game. Adelphi was held to its lowest goal output since a 12-1 loss to Army during the 1988 season. The Panthers were held to a season-low 26 shots, 12 below their average.
The Dolphins opened the game's scoring 1:44 into the contest as freshman attackman Matt Hutchings collected the rebound off a saved shot and dumped it into the back of the net for his 12th goal of the season. Le Moyne doubled its lead with 8:55 remaining in the first quarter following an Adelphi turnover. Sophomore defensive midfielder Andrew French carried the ball into the box before sending a pass to Hutchings on the right side of the crease. Hutchings flipped the ball to sophomore attackman Jack Vajda in front of the net, where he buried a shot for his first goal of the year.

Adelphi cut its deficit in half with 3:55 to go in the opening quarter as Michael Osmundsen registered his 24th goal of the year.

Le Moyne pushed its lead back to two with 12:50 left in the second quarter. Hutchings tallied his second goal of the day after collecting a pass from senior midfielder Alex O'Brien.

The Panthers got the goal back two minutes later as Chris Racalbuto netted his 17th goal of the season in a man-up situation off a pass from Ian Kirby. That would mark Adelphi's last goal of the day as the Dolphins held the Panthers off the scoreboard for the final 40:43 of the game.

Le Moyne regained its two-goal lead with 7:47 left following a save by Sweeney. Junior long-stick midfielder Justin Hussey collected the loose ball and cleared the ball before sending a pass to junior attackman Justin Kesselring, who netted his team-best 39th goal of the campaign from the left alley.

The Dolphins pushed their lead to 6-2 with a pair of goals 66 seconds apart late in the third quarter. Sophomore midfielder Dan Entenmann registered his 14th goal of the season from the right edge of the crease with 3:45 to go in the quarter. Senior midfielder Brian Rogers followed at the 2:39 mark with his 15th tally of the campaign.

Rogers finished off the game's scoring with 2:23 to play after receiving a pass from Entenmann in an extra-man situation.

Sweeney registered five of his saves in the first quarter and added four more in the second quarter en route to earning his 14th win of the season between the pipes. Brendan McDougal, the NE10 Goalkeeper of the Year, made 11 saves, including four in the second quarter and five in the third, in the loss for the Panthers.


2017 All-Championship Team
Joseph Catalanotti, Adelphi
Brendan McDougal, Adelphi
Brendan Entenmann, Le Moyne
Justin Kesselring, Le Moyne
Jack Sweeney, Le Moyne  
Tim Towler, Merrimack
Bobby Beshlian, Pace 

Most Valuable Player - Jack Sweeney, Le Moyne

Tuesday, May 2nd    

First Round ­

Game 1: #3 Merrimack 13, #6 SNHU 10 
Game 2: #4 Pace 12, #5 Saint Anselm 11, OT 

Friday, May 5th  


Game 3: #1 Adelphi 11, #4 Pace 5 
Game 4: #2 Le Moyne 10, #3 Merrimack 9, Final -2OT 

Sunday, May 7th   
Championship­ at Highest Remaining Seed

Game 5: #2 Le Moyne 7, #1 Adelphi 2

Information for this release provided by the athletic communications staffs at Adelphi and Le Moyne.

The NE10 is an association of 15 diverse institutions serving student-athletes across 24 NCAA Division II sports. Together we build brilliant futures by embracing the journey of every student-athlete. 

Each year, 4,500 student-athletes compete in conference championships, making the NE10 the largest DII conference in the country in terms of sport sponsorship. Leading the way in the classroom, on the field and within the community, the NE10 is proud of its comprehensive program and the experience it provides student-athletes.